How important is "web design" to you as someone browsing the web?

Soldato
I'm building a website and wanted some feedback. I'm a programmer with zero design skills so I've been using a prebuilt CSS framework (Bootstrap 5) to build my website. It is a highly technical site so doesn't have to look flashy or anything. I've seen some other sites in my niche which are also very simple in terms of design and they seem to be doing ok.

My main goal is to present the information in a fast manner so I don't want to require downloading kilobytes of JS and CSS just to view the website. I'll also be using a CDN to speed things up.

What is your view on this topic? Do you leave sites if they look "plain" or not very interactive?

What are you trying to achieve with your site? If you're just sharing some technical info, then make it functional and don't worry too much.

Good web design shouldn't get in the way of function.

Given your function is technical/factual/instructional then less should be more. In your case the user shouldn't notice the design at all. Use good contrast for page elements and text, keep it accessible, keep the files lightweight.

If you're expecting/hoping for a large user base then all you really need is decent navigation. Plus if you're not confident with the frent-end side of things, aim for an MVP, get it out there then you can always open it up to feedback for future refinement.

Keep it clear and functional, don't put in a load of fancy stuff just for the sake of it because you think that's required these days etc.

Also getting *a* site up is better than not publishing anything because you're distracted/sidetracked by wanting to add a load of fluff to it.

I think it really depends on the category of website / product being sold (and the target market as a result) - in some cases, less is more.

Last edited: