How long can you program for per day?

Man of Honour
Depends - if the code is flowing for want of a better way to put it I can easily spend all day at it though I try to take breaks regularly. I've never really had a problem with eye strain personally unless I'm over-tired. If things aren't working out code wise and/or I hit a mental roadblock I find it hard to sit at it for any length of time at all.

Permabanned
I'm a full time developer and I can happily code for a full working day every day - which is what you'd expect as it's the job.
I started wearing glasses around age 25-30 due to becoming short-sighted. I've used computers pretty much every waking hour since I was about 15.

I tend to deal with the larger/harder problems, and I've learnt I need to take a day or two before I start writing the code. I don't even think about the issue but somehow my brain comes up with a solution in the background. If I approach it like this I can usually write the whole solution in one sitting, with breaks only to sleep. If I don't take this time up front, I'll end up having to change things as I go and I'll mentally lose track of the changes I've made.

Man of Honour
I don't even think about the issue but somehow my brain comes up with a solution in the background. If I approach it like this I can usually write the whole solution in one sitting

I often find that.

It is an annoying one actually as my job is not a programming one but I often realise my brain has been hashing out ways to create solutions to work flow stuff - one time I even sat down and created a completely function proof of concept in an afternoon due to getting so frustrated with an ongoing need for a solution where I was working. Also while gaming I can't stop my mind subconsciously thinking about the kind of construction of code used to implement a given feature hah.

Sgarrista
Commissario