How to cut a small hole in plasterboard?

Soldato
I want to run an ethernet cable through a wall but I have no experience at all of this kind of DIY work. I'm hesitant to just start cutting in to it with a stanley knife because I dont actually know if there's a frame of some sort or electrical wiring in the wall that I might damage. Also, if i make a complete hash of it i'll have to pay someone to repair it.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks

Is the cable going to run up and down the wall or side to side? Either way you will hit internal barriers against the route, be these noggins in an up down way or the actual studs if going side to side.

Without knowing the full route is a bit difficult to comment on further, but plaster board is easy to cut into with very little pressure and fear of going to deep through the back side of it and the holes / cuts can easily be repaired and skimmed over

Well I'd drill a hole rather than cut.

If you're near light switches or sockets then chances are you're near a cable. You're unlikely to be near a pipe unless it's an external wall. You can buy a wire/pipe finder tool if you're super paranoid. http://www.amazon.co.uk/BLACK-DECKER-BDS200-Pipe-Detector/dp/B000FDXF8Q

In terms of hitting wood etc, if you tap the plasterboard wall, you'll be able to hear where the plasterboard is supported.

I'd pilot a small hole first, say 2/3mm, then use a drill bit slightly larger than the ethernet connector so that it would fit through.

Are you going all the way through the other side, or running cables around the house?

Thanks for the advice. I made a little floorplan to better illustrate what i want to do.

UVijMYY.png

Basically i'm just gonna run the cable along the skirting and through the wall, not the most elegant solution but seems like the cheapest/easiest way.