How to get a career in programming

Associate
Hi Gents,

I'm looking for some advice and direction really.

I've finally decided which path I'd like to follow. I'd like to become a programmer/developer.

This is an area that interests me greatly, however, I have a couple of problems.

1. I've just finished university with an MA in Medieval History - neither a related or scientific subject.

2. I currently work full time as a hotel manager and have done for the last year, I have been with the company for 2.5 years. I cannot afford to leave this job to study so cannot do a full time course (my full time masters has almost killed me).

I have A levels in maths, physics and history, with an AS level in chemistry.

Also I'm 23 if that makes any difference?

Basically I'm looking for advice on how to get into the industry, what if any qualifications I should attain, and is it possible to teach myself from books/videos etc?

I would ideally like to learn Java and then another complimentary language. Would this be doable and would it provide me with the breadth of knowledge to perform at least an entry level role?

I had thought about maybe creating a portfolio alongside a blog. Would this be beneficial?

Thank you for any input!

Associate
OP
Thank you for the input guys it is much appreciated.

To answer a few questions.

I'd like to be a developer because I enjoy problem solving and would also like a job where I am able to be part of a creative team. I only wish I'd had the presence of mind to take computer science at university instead of history (which I have loved doing but leaves me in this predicament).

I mainly considered java as there seems to be a large market for it, however, I am open to all suggestions. Also there seems to be a good list of qualifications for it available from the oracle site. I'm under the impression you can skip the course and just take the exams?