I Want To Make My Own Game, What Program To Use?

Ur, Hey.

So yeah, I want to make my own game simply put it. I have a few ideas and because im new to this stuff, I will like to start of with a 2-D Game, to make it easier, and its probably gonna be in the style of pokemon and stuff.

But i don't know where to start. I am willing to pay for a cheap program, but free will also be acepted. I also want a strong community and tutorials around such program incase i get stuck.

I hope you can help and i can't wait to make a prototype :D

Thanks in advance¬! ;)

Learn C++ and OpenGL after, might take a while but its worth it plus there are good tutorials on youtube called Buckys C++ Programming. 70+ episodes but only some are 10 minutes. Not that long. BTW how old are you, hopefully above 14 otherwise no offence but you are too young but you can try, i will assume you are an adult 18+. C++ is the basis for programming and OpenGL for programming 3D orientated games, if you want 2D try python ive hear that is god for 2D programming.

Take a look here, although you'll likely need some programming experience, for me I'd learn C++ and use Unity in conjunction with XNA game studio.

Without programming knowledge though you really are stuck to some basic game making, but have a play around with everything in the link below...

https://www.dreamspark.com/ - Use the little slider under "Developer & Designer Tools" to take a look at the software.

If you sign up and verify your school, college or university, everything on that website for you is FREE.

Last edited:
I did quite a lot with the OGRE engine.

Thing is to get yourself up to speed with C++, then learn something like OpenGl which is pretty, touch up on your linear algebra.