1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intel of AMD dual core?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by poggy, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. poggy

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2005

    Posts: 346

    Location: Sunny Glasgow

    Hi all,
    I've been out of the loop for awhile so I'm not too up to spec on the latest cpu's. I'm looking to upgrade my HTPC to a dual core, right now I'm running a AMD Clawhammer but I'm not sure which dual core chip would be best suit performance wise in vista.

    I was looking at:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E2160 "LGA775 Conroe" 1.80GHz (800FSB) - Retail - £58.74
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.20GHz (Socket AM2) - Retail - £51.69
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4600+ 2.40GHz (Socket AM2) - Retail - £64.61

    I'll be watching alot of HD content too, the board ill be using will be a mATX.

    An comments on the differences between the three chips would be great, I'm not overall bothered about overclocking the chip but will if i can get a better performance out of it.

    Many thanks
    Poggy
     
  2. Hessian

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 6, 2007

    Posts: 665

    Location: Sussex, UK

    If i was you I would wait just one more week and then the Intel prices will drop and you can cash in.
     
  3. Lonz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 29, 2005

    Posts: 1,013

    Location: Newcastle

    The Core2Duos give great bang for buck after overclocking. AM2's give very similar performance out of the box as the Intel's do out of the box when you compare two with a similar price.

    Intel have some price cuts on the 22nd Jule IIRC which will make them even better value for money than they already are.
     
  4. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 16,854

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    Could you up your price limit a bit and get a C2D E4300 with 2MB L2 Cache...

    As the E2140 & E2160 only have 1mb of L2 Cache..
     
  5. ots3go

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2005

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Notts

    And we've all seen what an immense difference that makes. :rolleyes:
     
  6. TheOtherOption

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 26, 2003

    Posts: 6,762

    Location: London

    Melbourne did a test with an E2160 and at the same clocks it kept up very well with his E6600 (both tested at 3.015Ghz I believe)

    The E21*0's clock very well too so are worth it over the AMD counter parts once you enter the realm of the overclocker ;)
     
  7. poggy

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2005

    Posts: 346

    Location: Sunny Glasgow

    Great thanks everyone for the replys. I think I'll sit back and wait for the price cuts and take it from there.

    I'm used to AMD but I might go down the Intel road for a change.

    Cheers
    Poggy
     
  8. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 16,854

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    :rolleyes:

    About an extra 4 to 7 FPS in some games

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
  9. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 17,210

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
  10. ots3go

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2005

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Notts

  11. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 16,854

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    The E4300 & E2160 both run at 1.80ghz at stock..the cache is the only difference between them....

    And in them tests it showing between 4fps to 7fps extra just by having 2mb of cache VS 1mb of cache

    X3
    E2160 1280x1024 = 52.1fps / 1600x1200 = 55.4fps
    E4300 1280x1024 = 58.4fps / 1600x1200 = 60.0fps

    Quake4
    E2160 1280x1024 = 116.5fps / 1600x1200 = 130.5fps
    E4300 1280x1024 = 121.4fps / 1600x1200 = 137.0fps

    FarCry
    E2160 1280x1024 = 88.1fps / 1600x1200 = 88.7fps
    E4300 1280x1024 = 92.0fps / 1600x1200 = 92.6fps
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
  12. ots3go

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2005

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Notts

     
  13. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jun 29, 2003

    Posts: 32,252

    Go for the 2160, good heatsink/fan and overclock it a bit :)
     
  14. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 16,854

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    I guess your one of them guys that expects an extra 50% increase in FPS by going to the next CPU up.... :p
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
  15. poggy

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2005

    Posts: 346

    Location: Sunny Glasgow

    My original HTPC build was built with gaming in mind but I never bothered as much as I thought I would have, so this time round I'm cutting that part out, so it's just for TV etc.
     
  16. poggy

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2005

    Posts: 346

    Location: Sunny Glasgow

    I might just do that, trying to keep the cost down but will see what happens.
     
  17. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jun 29, 2003

    Posts: 32,252

  18. ots3go

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2005

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Notts

    Damn right, admittedly I did once jump from a winny to a sandy.

    Anyway, apologies for the not so on topic-ness.


    Was also running my E2140 on the stock cooler at just over 3ghz, it does get quite toasty though.
     


Share This Page