IOMMU/PCI Passthrough to Windows with KVM

Associate
I've looked around but couldn't see a thread on this.

a bit about myself:
I'm a linux noob but I would love to be able to run linux and power windows only when I want to play games.
I have a basic understanding of linux , have my own little ubuntu server (on an Intel NUC) for files (Drobo attached via USB) and Plex.
I manged to stick to linux on my desktop for about two months until I started gaming again..
I plan to get a new Ryzen system (my i5 3570k doesn't support IOMMU so I can't test KVM atm.)

Before I buy stuff I started doing some research and the results seem to vary.
Some claim this is working fine , with 2-5%max performance loss (Cpu -GPU) : https://forum.level1techs.com/t/play-games-in-windows-on-linux-pci-passthrough-quick-guide/108981
While other sources show mixed results: https://level1techs.com/video/ryzen-iommu-pcie-passthrough-works

The way I understand it, the problem seems to be the support on the motherboard. Not all manufacturers offer it, while others promise it in future BIOS updates.

I was wondering if anyone has a working KVM for gaming, any recommendations on a safe mobo to buy and advice on the performance loss ? (is it indeed just 2-5% ?)

Soldato
This may help, Wendell is one of the few YT tech people who actually know what they are doing.

I know Gigabyte have sorted theirs (K5/7)

Bear in mind, you will need a AMD GPU to pass through, unless you have a NV Quodro based card

Associate
I used to have my primary W10 setup running this way. It does not have to be an AMD card, a while ago that was the case when I was running a 7970, but now Nvidia is good, I was using my 1070.

The key with Intel is that you need VT-d, not just VT-x, on both the motherboard and CPU. I was using X99 with a 5820k where I dedicated 8 cores.

I am no expert on the KVM/Linux side, I was using unRAID which makes it incredibly simple and does a whole lot more as a NAS type environment.