iPad 9.7" 2018 - No idea of passcode

Soldato
I have zero experience with Apple products - but have hit a problem. I've had a 2018 iPad returned to me which is requesting a Passcode.
The user left the business, and we've got no idea what this has been set to.
Trying the most likely has resulting in longer and longer lock-outs from the device.

I attempted to attach it to a PC running iTunes - held down Home and Power until the device switched off, then released power until the PC told me it was setting up an iPad in Recovery Mode.
iTunes told me that before the device could be used it would need to be rest. It proceeded to download some software, the iPad then rebooted and is once again prompting me for the unknown passcode.

So, I'm thinking rather rubbish door stop at the moment. Is that it? Are we out of options?

Don't want any data, I just want an iPad that can be handed to a new user.

Associate
Sounds like it may be iCloud locked which means you'll need the password for the email address it's registered to.

If it's a business purchased iPad and you have the receipt, you can give Apple a call and they may unlock it for you.

Soldato
Grand daughter locked me out forgot password and other details
As said I had to provide apple with proof of ownership and jump through some other hoops forget what else they asked
Did get it sorted in the end though
And to be honest if it's a business supplied laptop for business use you should have them set up to avoid this situation
Or have some strategy in place where money owed to leaving employees is not paid out until ipads etc are returned and checked

Soldato
is the account registered to the device a company email? if so reset the the password and access the icloud settings from a desktop and change the passcode. if the former employee has used a personal account is giving them a call and asking for the passcode not an option?