It's great being a developer

Soldato
I have been working as a developer professionally now for a little over 6 years.

During that time I have learnt so much and with my recent transition (talking last 12 months) to .net mvc I was thinking to myself "how great it is to be a developer"

My personal journey from pure winforms, via webforms and now to mvc has been haphazard at best, chaotic at worst :)

Although the transition from webforms to mvc was painful it has really been in the last 6 months that I have got to grip with it and has culminated in developing sites which I could have only dreamed of 12 months or more ago.

Over the last month I have been rebuilding a site I started as my first mvc site and although I have invested some serious hours I have noticed not only a marked improvement in the cosemtics but also my general development and understanding of core principals.

Plus those mini wins of mastering things that seeming beyond my technical skill has shown me that I don't think I would enjoy a different job as much as I do building software.

As an example I have spent the weekend (about 14 hours) building an import routine that takes an excel spreadsheet with 161 columns of data and 1000 rows of data that is able to update a database on azure.

This would have seemed beyond my means a few months ago but it is so nice to get that feeling that after initial testing only 2 minor bugs were found with this complete routine.

As I have always seen my job as my hobby that I get paid for I don't think there has ever been a better time to be a developer.

Can't wait to see what I am creating in the next 12 months.

Last edited:
Soldato
You talk about Excel and databases, surely there are loads of examples on the net, I am not being sarcastic, rather trying to get an idea of why one would struggle when, as I said, there must be loads of reference and examples. Or were you solely using say MSDN as reference and doing as much from a raw base as possible?

Soldato