Just started using Bootstrap / Symfony - small issue

Associate
About 10 years ago I was a web developer hand coding in HTML/css/php all linked to databases and mainly e-commerce. I thought my knowledge of CSS was really good until using Bootstrap. Seen a lot in there I've not seen before

Been using it on my own new personal website and made a ton of progress in a few hours. Also for someone who can't design or make anything look good from the front end I'm really happy.

I have found it difficult to customise though. Eg:

<h4 class="nav navvar-fg navbrand"> <a href...> My Site </a> </h4>
I
But finding the correct part in the css to change it is really difficult as all the styles are meshed line after line, word after word. I guess I can change it for the tag itself by adding style="colour: #cccccc;" or whatever but if it's a global change then I want it in the main css file.

Oh also just started using Symfony. Good but found the documentation an absolute nightmare to understand and it's not very comprehensive. Some of the tutorials are saying to use Twig as well... quite a big learning curve but I can see the advantages.

Any one had similar experiences?

Associate
But finding the correct part in the css to change it is really difficult as all the styles are meshed line after line, word after word. I guess I can change it for the tag itself by adding style="colour: #cccccc;" or whatever but if it's a global change then I want it in the main css file.

Are you currently trying to edit bootstrap's css file?

I would create your own css file that you include in your website where you candefine your own class styles, then add your own css classes/ids to the elements on the page and style them that way.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Are you currently trying to edit bootstrap's css file?