Learning Courses

OcUK Staff
Photoshop
Dreamweaver
HTML/PHP
CSS
Javascript

I am interested in learning courses for the above, is it better to go to courses as in classes to attend, or doing it online?

Have you learnt from courses in classes or online? What would you recommend and what learning websites have you seen that are good to learn from if you are a complete beginner?

I think it depends partially on what kind of learner you are, but most anyone can learn it all self-taught. A lot of courses run the risk of teaching you not very much for your buck. Especially at the elementary level.

You'll find most web-developers learn to be web-developer by their own initiative, and not what a teacher asks them to do. If you get stuck, come to us and we'll help. If you want, add me on gTalk/Skype/AIM and I'll be happy to offer help when you need it. Trust me if you want my details.

Your selection of things to learn is quite broad in terms of what you may be hoping to achieve. Is this for a hobby or is there a goal?

When I learnt about 10 years ago, I did both, i.e. went on a course at a local college, and bought books and learnt online. Since then, the internet has advanced so much, there are some really good resources available, and if you have self motivation, it can be done.

One of the hardest things with self learning is knowing the essentials you need to learn, and the fluff you don't really need. Anyway, here are some resources for you:

http://www.webref.eu/web-design-tutorials.php

http://www.webref.eu/php-tutorials.php
http://www.webref.eu/php-scripts.php

http://www.webref.eu/css-web-design.php

After all these years, I still do very simple table based design, which some will scoff at, but it's fine for the type of sites I build, and will never break across browsers. I only use CSS for style formatting.

Javascript I hardly ever have to use.

I love PHP. Dreamweaver is recommended too.

Rgds