Learning Programming.

Associate
Hi everyone.

I have an interest in learning programming but not sure where to start. Browsing the internet in the search for the best language to start with is akin to discussing religion from what I can tell. Endless flamewars etc haven't really helped me.

I have basic knowledge of Visual Basic and Python (by which I mean very basic) but I feel like I'm missing the point here. Should I not be learning the whys and how's of programming rather then choosing one particular language?

Any direction to online material or recommended textbooks would be a great help.

Thank You.

Associate
Picking a direction, e.g android app development, website development, will help your choice here.

Web is the easiest to get into as you can start with just a text editor and a web browser, which requires very little of loops, booleans, variables etc. If you want to go down that root, Javascript or Ruby are solid choices for learning object oriented code.

Soldato
Should I not be learning the whys and how's of programming rather then choosing one particular language?

Yes.
Any modern object oriented language will do. Once you've learnt the basics of structuring code and the steps needed to solve your problem in one language, it's very easy to translate that to other languages.

Associate
I'd also add, follow the crowd, you're going to need help and examples from time to time so pick something that's popular - then there will always be someone who's had the same problems you are having and solved them.

Associate
I know exactly where you are coming from. I did VB,PHP,Lingo at uni when webdesign was done using tables. After I left I did work in PHP but I found it to be clunky ( probably because I was using the processors I learned at uni and not the new OOP way. I struggled on but the past years or so I have dabbled in different languages and frameworks. Codeignitor, .net , python and RoR , Swift.