Lightweight rapid development Web UI

Associate
Hi guys,

tldr; I need recommendations for lightweight web frameworks for a home automation front end.

I'll start by saying I'm a professional software engineer for some 15 years. It's been a while since I was in a project working on a Web UI or GUI and even then it would have been full enterprise stack stuff. So I'm definitely behind the times and I don't need that level of enterprise for my current needs.

I am designing and implementing a home automation system. Some details in previous posts here, but I also cross link this thread of my ramblings (if you are interested) in the design the heating controller. https://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbulletin/showthread.php?5951-Hi!-DIY-Home-automation-system-build

What I need is a lightweight, easy to get up and running, easy adaptable, hackable, open source web ui framework.

Requirements are mostly data display in easy to read large text displays and arrays of controls for switching things on/off, changing target temps, profiles, modes, heating on/off etc. Pulling graphs in from Cacti etc.

Security obviously becomes an issue when these are to be accessed remotely, but for now I'm willing to just firewall it and SSH tunnel with my phone to get port 80 access. It would be nice if the web ui framework included decent OAuth security and was well maintained.

Associate
OP
Thanks, but,

Bootstrap if far too low level it's just a wrapper around JQuery for styling Twitter. I don't even think it has a REST api call in it (maybe with JQuery you can do an HTTP GET). Normally a web UI framework will "use" bootstrap, but using bootstrap and JQuery is a bit too low level although... I could end up there.