MacBook Retina: 128GB or 256GB?

Associate
Hey gang!

Thinking of buying a MacBook Pro for work (mainly) and personal use but I'm not sure whether to go for the more expensive 256GB for extra storage space. I handle a fair bit of scientific data but most of this data would be stored on an external HDD - I would have to "process" it from the Macbook.

The difference is £200 and I'm not sure if that's justified for an extra 128GB. I guess what I want to know is whether users here regret buying the 128GB in favour of the 256GB?

I've also seen the Transcend JetLite SD cards, and I wondered if that is a viable option to increase onboard storage options?

Eager to hear your opinions!

Associate
I have a 128gb MBA and haven't regretted it once.

Just have my music and a couple of tv shows on there and have a comfy 70gb still to play with.

And as you say, a Transcend card can double your storage straight off for £65 and then there is still the matter of your two USB ports. I bought a 64gb USB 3.0 one last week from Amazon in their Black Friday week for £18.

So there are plenty of options there to keep it cost effective.

Associate
I would spend that bit extra and get the 256GB one.

I have a Retina MBP with 128GB and after my iTunes library, Adobe Suite and OS I only had about 30GB left which isn't really ideal.

Although I do agree with MacRS4 about the JetDrives, they are brilliant! I brought a 64GB one from the Rainforest and once its in you literally forget about it! Have barely noticed a difference in read/write speeds between it and my SSD either!

Soldato
The JetDrive instead of the 256GB SSD is a £30 saving on an £1100 machine (to get the 256GB SSD rMBP) and is around 10x slower.

Unless you're absolutely certain that you don't need the extra space, get the 256GB SSD.

Soldato