Maybe desk work is not for me...

Associate
Hi all,

I have recently realised, desk work may not be for me, but there is a catch!

Background:
Had two surgery's last year (For Colitis), leaving me unable to sit down properly or drive. I have basically been stood up or lying down for months, recovery is ongoing.

I was doing 10 thousand steps a day, just around the house.
Started working from home (thank god!), 2 hours a day and increasing my hours gradually, with my step count however plummeting. I have found doing less steps/mobile utterly exhausting!

Really missing being on my feet! I don't think there is much I can do about it. I work as a data analyst and when at work do longish hours 7-4.30pm so little chance to be more mobile. I thought of another job type, but I am a disabled employee and cannot think of a suitable alternative where I am not sat at a desk/driving for 10 hours a day. Thought of a nursing role but training is too long, police officer, or something like that, but would not pass a medical.

TLDR version:
Desk jobs are exhausting, cannot think of how to improve this (I do enjoy my job). Can't think of a suitable alternate role, I guess this is a general moan!

Sgarrista
Commissario
Are you able to move your work around? Eg, do a couple of hours in the morning, go for a walk/run or gym etc, do a few more hours in the afternoon, have another break, and then work in the evening to finish your workload off?

Associate
OP
Hi all,

thanks for the responses.

Kindai:
I do have the benefit of flex! but 3/5 days I will be collecting our little one before and after work. (due to me being unwell this has not happened yet so unsure on timings)
However I could certainly on the other 2 days take an hour lunch and go for a walk.
I cannot move my work around sadly and have no reason to get up from my desk.

Bakes0310: