Monitor Won't Work with GPU

Associate
I'm fairly new to computer building and to my surprise, when I attempted to run my new build, the monitor came up with a "No Signal" sign followed by a complete black screen, and my monitor's light turning from blue to orange to indicate it is not working. I thought the issue might have been the graphics card, but I also wanted to check if it was a motherboard issue so just to be sure I decided to run the PC without the card in and to my surprise, everything worked as normal. I've already tried taking the graphics card out and reseating it more than once and each time I've got the same result.

I can hear the fan of the GPU running, and I can also see the lights on the GPU flashing as well, so I really am stumped a this point.

For context sake, here are my parts:
CPU: Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
MB: Gigabyte - Z390 UD ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
PSU: SeaSonic - FOCUS Plus Gold 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
GPU: Gigabyte - GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB WINDFORCE Video Card

I thought maybe this was just a case of my graphics card not being compatible with my motherboard, but I'm not exactly sure.

Associate
OP
Ok, as you have said you're fairly new, the following might be obvious or not, but there are a couple of things I would try before anything more drastic.

• I assume you did move the monitor (HDMI/Displayport/Whatever) you are connecting to your monitor from the built in motherboard connector, to one of the display connectors on the 2080 GPU? If not, then try that.
  • If you have done that and it still won't work, try plugging the monitor cable in to the motherboard connector, go in to your BIOS, go to the peripherals tab and under 'Initial Display Output' select PCIe 1 slot (assuming you have your GPU in slot 1 - which should be the only full X16 slot, I think on that board), then save and exit. Then move over the connector to one of the GPU connectors and reboot.