Motorbike Advice

Associate
I have been driving for 3 years now and want to get a motorbike. Being 22 i can go for a full licence. Now would you think its best if i do my CBT and get to grips with a 125cc to start with rather then going in at the deep end. I have also being reading about people who restrict larger bikes say a 400cc to a 125cc is this a good idea?

Soldato
My advice to you would be to get your CBT done alongside your DAS. You'll end up doing your DAS on something like an CB500 or similar, but once it's done its done and you can forget about it. Where you go from there is your choice, you can either start off on a 125, and go the 2stroke route (RS125 / Cagiva Mito) if you're a dab hand with mechanics, or go the reliable 4t route (CBR125 / R125 / NSR etc etc)

Or, if you like the extra power from your experience on the 500 you do your DAS on, then you could always jump on something like a Bandit 600, not enough power to do silly speeds (150+) but enough for you to get to grips with and believe me, you can have plenty of fun on a Bandit

People on restrict larger bikes down to 33bhp if they have only done the restricted test, called A2, it means they can only ride machines up to 33bhp for 2 years from the date of passing, but after that they can ride what they want. So basically they can legally go ride a zzr1400 or busa at only 19 yrs old, which imo is crazy but hey ho

Soldato
Im 24, from october to last week i done all the test's thats the CBT, A1 and direct access. I now have a full license to ride whatever size bike i want. After my CBT i bought a 125cc to help me get road experience for my road test (direct access) which really did help. Two hours after passing my road test with my full license being made i went down town and bought my dream 600cc bike. The point im getting at is dont mess around and get your direct Access done like me and in a few months you will be where i am....an extremely happy person:D

Associate