Need a little advice with a system I built recently

Associate
Against my better judgement I build this for a friend recently, all from ocuk

Asus A8N5X nForce4 (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard
OcUK Value 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 184pin DDR Memory Dual Channel Kit
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail
2x SpinPoint P HD080HJ 80GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (raid 0)
Antec SLK1650B Black Quiet Mini Tower Case - 350W SmartPower PSU
OcUK Value Floppy Drive - Black
Sapphire ATI Radeon X1300 512MB DDR2 AVIVO TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express)

Much to my frustration he called me after about a week of getting it and said it keeps hanging up on games. I popped it open and everything seems to be working, no overheating and everythings plugged into the right places. I've built a fair few systems before as I used to do it for a living but I quit it about 2 years ago and some of this technology is a bit new, this is the first system I've built with PCI express.

I ran memtest 86 and that reported no errors, I totaly formatted the system and reinstalled windows xp with latest drivers to eliminate any software problems but that didn't work.

I'm leaning towards a fault with the graphics card possibly, the bios splash screen has a screwed up pallete since day 1 so i just turned it off and forgot about it but im wondering now if thats somehow connected. No problems with the windows desktop however, just hanging up on games, no artifacts, just freezes.

Everythings running at stock speeds, no overclocking.

Directx 9c installed

Trouble is I dont have any other pci express graphics cards to try in it to see if thats the problem.

So, any suggestions as to what I might try before I start sending stuff back to ocuk?

Associate
I think you may have a dogey graphics card there mate, try taking it out and use the onboard one, if the bios screen is still messey or garbled then there is a prob with the mobo itself.

Man of Honour