Need recommendation on Headphones Plz

Soldato
Hi

think its about time to upgrade my sound on my pc, unfortunately because the family will not tolerate a large sound system( specially as no one really likes classical music), so its headphones for me. After a little research i have just become more confused on what to get, i am very new to all these terms of bass, treble, open closed and so on. I practically on listen to only classical music, games and some movies and all this is via some cheap sony headphones that was given to me, only one of the earphones work :o :o

so really need a very good headphones with excellent sound quality, that is good for classical music(specially Vivaldi) and games, and some movies.

my budget is £100 and only if i had to £150, and that is only if the sound quality would be amazing for that price, considering i was on some cheap cheap cheap earphones(never even knew that head phones could be that expensive). Also i don't have a separate sound card on my pc at the moment, was thinking of getting Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music - Retail (SC-034-CL), but this would come after i get the earphones or would it be better to get a separate amp or something??

so i have narrowed it down to

Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro studio / broadcast headphones £79.99

Beyerdynamic DT770 Premium audiophile headphones £130-140

Beyerdynamic DT 880 Headphones DT880 £159

Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium audiophile headphones £199 (heard this is best for classical)???<--- only if i REALLLLLLLY had to.

i have not got a clue what the difference between premium and pro means, but which would be best to get, i would want something best for classical,games but the Beyerdynamic DT880 Premium is £200 :eek: . Would any of the above even work with an onboard sound card?? also what does semi-open mean??

anything else anyone would recommend? as you have gathered i am a NOVICE when it comes to music equipment.

thanks for any help. :)

Last edited:
Soldato
OP