New build - no POST no signal to monitor

Associate
Hello, this is my first build in a very long time and I've already run into problems. My build specs that are of note at the moment:

- Gigabyte Z170-Gaming K3-EU Intel LGA1151 ATX Motherboard
- Intel Core i5 6600K Processor Skylake 3.5GHz
- 16Gb (2x8Gb) Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2666MHz
- Cooler Master Hyper 212x 4 Heatpipe 1x Pwm Fan Tower CPU Cooler
- Cooler Master B Series B700 ver.2 PSU

Putting everything together following the manufacturers instructions I've gone to power up and get into the BIOS but I get no POST and no signal to the monitor whatsoever. All fans turn on, motherboard lights up and will stay on running fine until I turn it off. There are no beeps from the speaker (I did install it).

I went through the troubleshooting checklist on Tom's Hardware: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems

On removing the memory I get 5 long beeps and then it reboots itself and does the same until I turn it off. I bought a 4Gb stick of Crucial 2133MHz memory and everything happens the same. I've tried each of the memory sticks in different slots, no change...still no beeps, no signal to monitor, no POST and all fans working until I turn it off.

As per Tom's Hardware troubleshooting I breadboarded the build on a piece of cardboard. All that is connected is the power (including speaker), CPU, fan and memory. Still no change.

At this time I'm suspecting that the motherboard is at fault but would appreciate a second opinion.

Soldato
Hello and welcome to the forums :)

are you using the on board graphics? if you are not remove the gpu and try using the on board one and see if it boots.

How did you install the cpu cooler? when tightening it up did you go from corner to opposite corner or did you go round doing each at a time? as this maybe done too tight.

Soldato