New to baking, What to bake ?

Soldato
Hi Guys,

I'm new to baking ive only ever made a simple sponge cake or buns in the past.
Im looking for some baking ideas and gain some knowledge along the way.

Since we now have a bigger kitchen, Ive wanted to learn more cooking skills,

I'm looking for some ideas on what I could bake,

Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Thats too hard to get right.

Suppose it depends on what you like and what you want to become better at? What do you want to be able to do?

Baking is something I have little experience with, I've made a basic sponge cakes before and ive been trying to make pizzas.

Im looking for a few recipes to start with, I've made a simple sponge cake before but that;s it so i want to build on it without jumping to something too advance.

a few different options (cakes, cookies, scones,brownies ext)

Im just wanting a few suggestions on what to bake,

I dont really know where to start from other then make a few more basic sponges and try others at random and hope for the best.

Watch the Great British Bakeoff and copy tasks. Or get a book and work through it. Or look at different types of sponge and work your way through trying them all. Or look at classic type desserts and give them a go - like simple lemon tart/lemon meringue pie, a sachertorte, a croquembouche, etc (I've no idea what your base level of capability is, so eg. just making profiteroles might be your level, but if you're hardcore do next level stuff :p).

Bake off is good but with out any recipes and info its just shooting in the dark,
I have been thinking the same build on the sponge cake trying some other and then try a few other thinks.

Any good recipe book you could suggest

baking skill is basic sponge is the most ive done after i left school.

How did you guy start with baking ??

Last edited:
Soldato
Try some South African recipes, like rusks and melktert.