Noob - Starter camera for wildlife photography

Soldato
Hi camera nerds!

I'm looking to get into wildlife photography and I am a complete noob with photography.

I can get started with the basics using Youtube and playing around. But where would I start in terms of camera? Half decent zoom lens required and not much in the way of fast motion capture required I don't think.

Budget circa £600.

TIA

Last edited:
Soldato
£600 for body and lens you’re definitely going to be buying used.

At this budget you want to focus more on getting a good lens and worry less about the camera body.

Something from Nikon (D7200, D7500, D7100) for around the £300 mark and then the rest on a 70-200 (Sigma most likely in budget).

Other option is picking up a Sony A7 mirrorless body and then a 24-240.

Associate
I'm a Nikon shooter, hence the Nikon suggestion.

You have to be buying second hand at this budget.

I went with the Nikon 7200 as it's a great body with a pretty high spec for the price.

The lens is the most reach out could get for the remaining budget.

To stay in budget the 5200 is also a decent choice for body

Last edited:
Soldato
Micro Four Thirds is great for wildlife photography, look at the Olympus cameras as they'll have the better autofocus, the reason I've suggested M34 is due to the crop on the sensor which will give you longer reach and a smaller lens compared with full frame or apsc cameras.

You should be able to get the Olympus em1 mark ii used at a decent price.

Last edited:
Associate
When you say you want to get started with Wildlife photography, my first question is what do you want to photograph and where do you plan on going to photograph the wildlife?