• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

**** Official Titan owners thread. ****

Caporegime
Joined
24 Sep 2008
Posts
38,294
Location
Essex innit!
I read one review of gpu performance tests with Crysis 3, they named it the system killer, and this was only on High settings with 4xmsaa medium :eek:.

Titan SLI @1920x1080 had very nice framerates (95fps) but @5,760x1080 was just under 40fps.

If I am honest, I was expecting tough but that is seriously tough. Everything was set to the max and that was unplayable. 2*MSAA wasn't much better in honest but playable.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,288
Location
UK
Ok,ok I will give it a good de-dust :p

Just done 2 bench tests in games and Crysis 3!!! Ohhhh Mannnnn, killer :(

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
7729, 300000, 16, 35, 25.763

First mission (in the rain on the ships) and everything maxed with 8*MSAA

I'll say, I'm not impressed. I'd want a minimum of 60. Two cards like that should rip through anything. Not average 25. 16 is just a slideshow.

I would have thought in 2013 with cards like that, any sort of AA would require no worry whatsoever. "crap, I have to turn this down!"
 
Soldato
Joined
3 Jun 2012
Posts
10,140
I'll say, I'm not impressed. I'd want a minimum of 60. Two cards like that should rip through anything. Not average 25. 16 is just a slideshow.

I would have thought in 2013 with cards like that, any sort of AA would require no worry whatsoever. "crap, I have to turn this down!"

he is using 3 monitors though, what do you expect?
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Nov 2011
Posts
10,957
If I am honest, I was expecting tough but that is seriously tough. Everything was set to the max and that was unplayable. 2*MSAA wasn't much better in honest but playable.

I've done a bit of testing with IQ on Crysis 3 and SMAAx2 is the best IQ / best performance option... the MSAA implementation seems fundamentally broken as it looks rubbish unless on 8x and the frame rate hit of 2x is nearly as bad

there are also some known frame rate killing objects in Crysis 3 at the moment and Crytek have said they will be releasing a patch to tidy up performance soon

I would steer clear of Crysis 3 as a proper benchmarking tool for a while until they get the bugs worked out - it is the game rather than the cards that are at fault
 
Associate
Joined
19 Nov 2009
Posts
496
Location
London
Will an 850w psu handle
x2 Asus GeForce GTX Titan 6144MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Intel Core i7-3820 3.60GHz (Sandybridge-E) Socket LGA2011 Processor - Retail
Gigabyte X79-UP4 Intel X79 (Socket 2011) DDR3 Motherboard
NZXT Phantom Enthusiast USB3.0 Full Tower Case - Red/White
Samsung 120GB SSD 840 SATA 6Gb/s Basic - (MZ-7TD120BW)
GeIL Enhance Corsa 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Quad Channel Kit (GEC316GB1600C9QC)

u have money to buy 2 titans and dont have money to buy proper psu?

i have money to buy ferrari but no money for gas :D

psu is most important thing constant clean voltage will guarantee best pc health



min buy http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-098-CS&groupid=701&catid=123&subcat=1084

or enermax 1000 and up
 
Caporegime
Joined
24 Sep 2008
Posts
38,294
Location
Essex innit!
I've done a bit of testing with IQ on Crysis 3 and SMAAx2 is the best IQ / best performance option... the MSAA implementation seems fundamentally broken as it looks rubbish unless on 8x and the frame rate hit of 2x is nearly as bad

there are also some known frame rate killing objects in Crysis 3 at the moment and Crytek have said they will be releasing a patch to tidy up performance soon

I would steer clear of Crysis 3 as a proper benchmarking tool for a while until they get the bugs worked out - it is the game rather than the cards that are at fault

I am doing bench runs for the hard hitting games and popping everything on max. I have no concerns because if you look at my 3DMark firestrike score with a small overclock, it is hitting the same scores roughly as a 690. This is a single Titan run. Crysis 3 can do one as far as I am concerned :p

My single card Titan run
Vs
A 690
 
Associate
Joined
15 May 2004
Posts
376
Ok,ok I will give it a good de-dust :p

Just done 2 bench tests in games and Crysis 3!!! Ohhhh Mannnnn, killer :(

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
7729, 300000, 16, 35, 25.763

First mission (in the rain on the ships) and everything maxed with 8*MSAA

SLI doesn't work in that map properly anyway
 
Associate
Joined
14 Nov 2012
Posts
432
Permabanned
Joined
18 Oct 2012
Posts
9,784
Ok,ok I will give it a good de-dust :p

Just done 2 bench tests in games and Crysis 3!!! Ohhhh Mannnnn, killer :(

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
7729, 300000, 16, 35, 25.763

First mission (in the rain on the ships) and everything maxed with 8*MSAA

Is that with 2 cards?

There'll probably be a few drivers to come before SLI works properly on them
 
Associate
Joined
16 May 2007
Posts
840
I'm still in the warehouse queue, so it looks like Tuesday at the earliest for me. A bit gutted as I was hoping for a play over the weekend.

Glad the cards have gone down well with the ones that have them.
 
Top