Opinion on Jetbrains tools - worth it?

Man of Honour
I used to be a software developer (various languages but mostly Java JEE and mainframe COBOL). I have recently returned to coding in my spare time for a personal web based project, which I hope will evolve into something useful. So far I've been using Sublime for HTML, CSS, PHP and the xampp built in query tool for database queries along with Toad. I've also been dabbling in Python but just using Sublime again.

But having noticed a 50% discount code for Jetbrains tools (the code is "Woot!" until end of November) I'm thinking of trying some of their tools. It looks like PHPStorm (PHP obviously), Pycharm (Python), Webstorm (Javascript, HTML, CSS), IntelliJ (HTML, CSS and Java/Android may come in handy) and Data Grip would be useful. In my old life as a Java developer I was used to IDE's (Eclipse based mostly, not IntelliJ). So I do appreciate the difference between IDE's and a code editor such as Sublime.

It is only a subscription based license which I general don't like. But any opinions on those specific tools, the support given by Jetbrains, etc, would be appreciated. Did anyone regret buying them?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Soldato
I've used PyCharm in the past for Django development. Overall I was very impressed with it and given the amount of time it saved me I think it was well worth the cost. I'm just getting back into programming now and will be signing up for PyCharm Professional as I find it so useful.

Don't forget that most JetBrains IDEs can install plugins from their other IDEs so it might not be needed to buy PyCharm, WebStorm and DataGrip. I know PyCharm already has database tools already built in so I never felt the need for DataGrip. Plus I think you can install some JavaScript plugins in PyCharm as well so you can work just fine with JavaScript in it.