Overclocking 2700x on ASRock Taichi - help!

Associate
Okay so I'm a total noob to overclocking Ryzen, I've come from x58 which was totally different and was done via BLCK... I've been looking at it guides but they are all totally contradictory, so anyone with this board running a successful OC feel free to guide me!

I've got my memory tuned in and stable at 3466MHz CL14 with pretty tight timings at 1.365v on 8 pack Samsung b-die.

I've done a few cinebench runs and it's a consistent 1828 multi and 180 single core with cpu totally standard and above ram speed.

Soldato
I haven't overclocked Ryzen but it's my understanding you should overclock CPU first and then RAM. I suppose as Ryzen is very RAM speed dependent the two might interact, but I'd be wary of maxing out RAM speeds before clicking the CPU at all.

8pack might also have some advice with the TaiChi boards. Can't seem to tag him.

Associate
OP
I haven't overclocked Ryzen but it's my understanding you should overclock CPU first and then RAM. I suppose as Ryzen is very RAM speed dependent the two might interact, but I'd be wary of maxing out RAM speeds before clicking the CPU at all.

8pack might also have some advice with the TaiChi boards. Can't seem to tag him.

Ah okay I've saved the profile with the ram at 3466cl14 and 3200cl12 both stable. So can always start again with cpu. Unless of course it's not worth messing with and just leave things as they are.

HRL

HRL

Soldato
Easier than the RAM really.

Standard cooler? Or aftermarket or water?

Set RAM to default speed, CPU multiplier to whatever gives you 4200Mhz, disable Core Boost, add a tiny bit to VCORE, then test.

If all good, try to increase the multiplier a bit more. Once you’ve established a stable clock change you RAM settings back and test again.

Think they pretty much all do 4.2Ghz TBH.

If you rely more on single core performance it’s probably not worth doing though. XFR can boost higher than 4.2Ghz whenever it needs to.