PBO Offset, is lower always better?

Associate
This is on a 7950X3d, Asus x670E hero MB.
Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm new to PBO tuning(my 5800x3d I just set to -30 and that was it..) and have been trying to soak up as much info as I can and can't find an answer to this.

All I'm currently doing is using Ryzen master to lower each core by 5 at a time and using the validate option to stress test it with the assumption that when it fails I can start to wind it back a bit at a time.
BUT, is it always, lower is better?

Soldato
Lower is always better providing it is stable as by lowering the curve your essentially undervolting the chip which will allow it to hit the same clocks with less power or even use the extra power/thermal headroom to boost to even higher clocks.

Soldato
My understanding is that lower will allow the cpu to boost higher because you will be supplying less voltage to the cpu and therefore lowers temps which in turn tells the boost algorithm to go higher as you will have greater thermal headroom. Of course if your cpu is unstable then lower isn't better and if your using CO per core them it becomes a balancing act finding the best values for each individual core.

Last edited:
Soldato
I spent ages on my 7900X3D and eventually just put all cores on -20. Boosts to 5.7 too, I have not tried the additional 100mhz. Additionally, I do not waste my time with crappy software when changing settings within the bios is simply superior.

Last edited:
Soldato
This is on a 7950X3d, Asus x670E hero MB.
Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm new to PBO tuning(my 5800x3d I just set to -30 and that was it..) and have been trying to soak up as much info as I can and can't find an answer to this.

All I'm currently doing is using Ryzen master to lower each core by 5 at a time and using the validate option to stress test it with the assumption that when it fails I can start to wind it back a bit at a time.
BUT, is it always, lower is better?