• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Pentium D Dual core any good ?

Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
Hi I am looking to put together a system for a friend, she doesn't game or do anything too demanding, but due to the cost of the Intel DC CPU's, I was thinking of using one instead of a low end AMD (S754 3000 or S939 3000).

I was just wondering what your opinions of these CPU's are, if its worth getting one instead of a low end SC AMD, and how do they overclock (thats for my interest, not hers ;)).

If they are worthwhile, what would be a decent Micro ATX Mobo to overclock with ?
 
Soldato
Joined
8 Jun 2003
Posts
4,961
Comapred to your other options, ITS DUAL CORE enuff :cool:

Mobo donno.

£84.54 Pentium 4 805 D overclock here :D
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
LOL just found that before you posted, that is pretty impressive, but I dont trust Toms TBH ;)
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Dec 2004
Posts
5,694
Location
Dorset
Had my Pentium D 805 @ 3.9Ghz on stock volts, chugged along quite nicely. I found the performance comparable to my old X2 4800+.
 
Associate
Joined
27 May 2006
Posts
43
They are pretty good for windows multitasking because of those two cores, theres about to be a price drop on june 5th apparently
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
How to you sort the memory when you O/C the CPU ?
Does it have a divider or is it locked to speed regardless of CPU FSB ?
 
Associate
Joined
17 Jun 2005
Posts
620
Location
Sheffield
Vogon said:
How to you sort the memory when you O/C the CPU ?
Does it have a divider or is it locked to speed regardless of CPU FSB ?


theres no need as these cpus are 533, therefore even cheap pc3200 can run the cpu at 4ghz 1:1

there are dividers however
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
Eh lol .. right now I am confused ;)

As I saw it, the 805 is 133 (x4 to get the 533), and I have PC4200 coming for this build which is 533 IIRC so at stock the CPu and mem are 1:1.
But for example if I wanted to clock the CPU to 3.3 I would set the CPU FSB to 166 the memory would then be overclocked too unless I used a divider ?
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jul 2005
Posts
9,295
Vogon said:
Eh lol .. right now I am confused ;)

As I saw it, the 805 is 133 (x4 to get the 533), and I have PC4200 coming for this build which is 533 IIRC so at stock the CPu and mem are 1:1.
But for example if I wanted to clock the CPU to 3.3 I would set the CPU FSB to 166 the memory would then be overclocked too unless I used a divider ?


Running the chip at stock FSB (133) your memory would run at 133 as well (the CPU is quad pumped your memory isn't (Its running DDR so 266 mhz)).

your memory is rated up to 266Mhz so even with the cpu at 4ghz you would still be well within the limits of the memory.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
Of course, Yes :o I assumed the memory was run at 266 by default and went up with the CPU FSB, but from what you are saying it sets to the same FSB as the CPU ?
Thats good then, I have got the Asus P5LD2-VM micro ATX board coming with it, so it will be interesting to see what that combo can reach on its stock cooler :)
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
17 Jun 2005
Posts
620
Location
Sheffield
Vogon said:
Of course, Yes :o I assumed the memory was run at 266 by default and went up with the CPU FSB, but from what you are saying it sets to the same FSB as the CPU ?
Thats good then, I have got the Asus P5LD2-VM micro ATX board coming with it, so it will be interesting to see what that combo can reach on its stock cooler :)

i was talking about ddr1 sorry :D
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
But DDR2 isnt any different to configure is it ?
IE PC4200 DDR2 is still 266FSB (x2), meaning at stock its still underclocked with a D805 as its running 133 ? :confused:
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
LOL !
Glad I didn't buy this to overclock, is is diabolical, anything over 148FSB and it refuses to post :rolleyes:
Gotta say the stock HSF fixings are IMO a bit flimsy (just plastic poppers through the mobo holes, and the stock HSF is noisier than stock AMD ones.

Unless it gets more positive once windows is installed, its not looking like I will spec another ;)
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Dec 2004
Posts
5,694
Location
Dorset
What board?

I've got one stuck in a Asus P5LD2-VM job (945G) and it wont go over 151FSB when I'm positive it will do more. My Abit is doing 190 odd atm.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
4,288
yep I am aware the stock cooler wouldnt be up to much, but its not a temp issue as it fails to post above 148 !
FirebarUK, same mobo except mine has DH after VM but thats irrelevant AFAIK.
The board supports 266FSB(1066) oficially for other CPU's so it shouldnt be a limitation on the boards FSB capabilities :confused:
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Apr 2003
Posts
2,597
Location
England
I had an 830 Pentium D clocked at 3.3Gz and it scored 7700 in 3dmk05 / compared to 13800 with my current AMD at 2.6Ghz with the same graphics cards :eek:
 
Top Bottom