Powershell and multi-threading -

Soldato
So, know nothing about powershell at all so am after some guidance about going about multithreading a powershell job/function. I'm using the vanilla Get-LastLogon function (http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Get-LastLogon-Determining-283f98ae#content) which pulls last known loggedon user from a windows system.

I have multiple systems to check so I can wrap that function up as follows: "Get-LastLogon (get-content .\serverlist.txt) | export.csv <somepath>\<somefile.csv"

The above will also pipe the output to a csv file. This works, but is exceptionally slow as it processes each system sequentially. I have limited knowledge of powershell (and everything else :) ) but I understand I need to somehow wrap the whole lot up using the Start-Job cmdlet but I have no idea how I would go about that.

Although there many posts about use of the Start-Job cmdlet, I'm struggling to tie it all together in addition to exporting the output to csv.

Cheers, Paul.

EDIT - http://www.get-blog.com/?p=22 - this explains multi-threading perfectly, although I'll need to tailor the Get-LastLogon function to work using this method. Question has evolved to how do you export the output from the multil-threaded instances of Get-LastLogon in to a single csv file. Hmmmm

Last edited:
Taking a guess, but where he's doing:
Code:
Get-Job | Receive-Job | Out-GridView
could you not do:
Code:
Get-Job | Receive-Job | Export-CSV

From the looks of things, the get-job|receive-job just globs it all together, although there may be additional headings included. You could likely easily sort and cut those out in Excel or similar?

Edit, ignore

Can't you use the lastlogontimestamp property (2003 and above) ? I have written the below using quest ad module and it is fairly quick over thousands of users. I filter certain OUs that I am responsible for but you can take that part out.

Code:
#Imports Quest Active Directory Snapin (must be installed)