Project advice?

Soldato
I want to build a website for a specific task and don't really know where to start. Here's what I want to do:

• Allow users to upload a large image, typically 10MP+ (ie larger than screen resolution).
  • Users then need to be able to pan around and zoom in and out of the image with the mouse in a reasonable sized box.
  • Users need to be able to click on points on the image a dozen times with the pixel coordinates saved.
  • A simple calculation needs to be done with these coordinates and the result saved.
  • This clicking on points followed by calculation needs to be repeated a few times.
  • Finally the results of the calculations are plotted on a graph which can be saved/downloaded as an image.

This all seems doable with HTML5 and Javascript - but I've never used either before. Can anyone point me in the right direction or maybe there's already code written that can do all of this I can reuse?

Soldato
Everything sounds pretty straightforward. The potential problems I see are the bandwidth/storage for those images and the generation of the graph images.

10Mb+ images will mean a lot of bandwidth and storage will be required for your server, which will not be cheap. Likewise creating an image from data is not a cheap operation in terms of processing power, so you will probably need one server to host the site and another to create the images for you, depending on estimated user load, obviously.