1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Punisher water cooling.

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by BaBa, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Ok so assuming the chips that are on the way are all good now I have to cool the thing without it sounding like a jet engine.

    The case is going to be a Supermicro CSE-748-1400B so is a little tight on internal space.

    Because the case was a little out of my control the only rads I can mount are one 120.2 and one 80.3.

    The rads are alphacool the 120 is 60mm thick with noctua fans the 80 is 45mm thick also with noctua fans.

    Cpu blocks are cuplex kryos delrin reused from good old Hydra, with a MCP655 pump res combo.

    My question is do you think the rads are enough to cool 4 E7 4890's each putting out 155W (Should have asked this before ordering the rads:rolleyes:).

    I know the forums have a water cooling section but this build is a little different and probably more in your guys territory:)
     
  2. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,753

  3. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,501

    Location: Surrey

    Depends on ambient, ability to exhaust hot air from location, few other things. But...

    Short answer, no not really. I think you would struggle to do it quietly, sure even with loud radiator fans it won't be as loud as that case would be using its default fan setup, but depends how quiet you want it.

    Could you mount a 360 or 480 and hang it off the back? Is the 748 going to be rack mounted or used as a tower?
     
  4. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Was going to try and use it as my daily driver with a few mods to windows server so it will be pedestal next to the desk.

    It couldnt be as loud as the current setup it really does sound gas turbine like when the fans spool up to 8000rpm:eek:

    I could always put the 64 core rig in it and run the new one in an Elysium with bigger rads, will have to look at my options when all the parts are in.

    Still waiting for any of the cpu's to turn up so I can confirm the motherboard if fully functional:(
     
  5. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Finally got a bios that works so build progressing.
    Brackets to hold the rads built and fitted.
    I got the wrong size pipe for my fittings so waiting for that to arrive and the water block mounts need trimming to miss the ram and heat sinks but nothing impossible to overcome.
    Not sure as Biffa said how quiet it will be with this setup but must be better than the air it came with.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. datalol-jack

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 6,178

    Good to see Sir BaBa yet builds! :) Where you locate the spare time and cash, I wouldn't venture to guess (train robbing? ;)), but looking good! Glad you got the BIOS sorted.
     
  7. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Its ALIVE:eek:

    [​IMG]

    After MUCH messing about it lives, this has probable been the most tortuous build yet.

    But 75C in my lounge with it paneled up at 100% load.
    Think a few more fans are needed:rolleyes:
     
  8. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,831

    Location: Leeds

    60 cores and 120 threads. Holy balls
     
  9. cadmunkey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 16, 2014

    Posts: 1,514

    Location: West Yorkshire

    Looks great , but sounds like it definately needs more fans ;)
     
  10. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,805

    Location: St helens

    ba would the temps not be any lower with it like this

    RAD --- CPU 1 --- CPU 2 --- RAD ----CPU 3 --- CPU 4 ---- PUMP ----

    I have never used water cooling im just looking at it thinking that would take some load of the 3rd cpu
     
  11. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,866

    Location: Herts/uk

    long debated but the temps prob wont change by changing the order, im just wondering if that inner vertical rad is doing much , hope its pulling but even then its got the drive bays in the way?
    Have you got the temps for the individual cpus? 75c prob not that bad considering :) , i want 1 !!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016
  12. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,501

    Location: Surrey

    With water cooling the temperature eventually stabilises across the entire loop.
     
  13. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    That's how I had the setup on Hydra the 48 core rig but at the time everyone said it would make no noticeable difference, only getting 2C difference between hottest and coolest.

    Inner rad is in the same position as the fan bank before I removed them and the front is vented.
    Aft rad has fans in external pods that I switched out for some more Noctua ones.
    It is a lot quieter than the stock setup but I think 3 more fans on the aft rad will not go amiss to try and get the hot air out.
     
  14. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,866

    Location: Herts/uk

    It actually stabilizes down and varies to ambient temps and runs just about the same difference, which in your living room will be fairly high, so if the room warms up so will the loop
    1 of my pcs with the outdoors rad varies according to outside temps which i think is the best you can get (in winter even better ) all that 0c air blowing over the triple rad does wonders :) you can feel the difference between the cold tube coming from the rad and warm tube going back in.

    BTW what projects have you got it running on?
     
  15. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Currently running a batch of nfs ,pogs and universe.

    Want to try folding but not really up on what version to run ,tried a basic v7 windows install and couldn't get it to do more than 32 threads even when manually set to 120.
     
  16. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,805

    Location: St helens

    not a question you may want to answer, but what was the over all cost?
     
  17. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,501

    Location: Surrey

    Windows 7/8 32bit only supports 32 cores, 64bit supports 256 cores.

    However Windows 7/8 only supports 2 physical processors.

    Windows Server 2012 Standard Edition supports up to 64 physical processors and up to 640 cores
     
  18. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 837

    Location: Derbyshire

    Yes running 2008r2 so core count is supported.

    I am just used to command line linux installs not this new fangled GUI stuff:)
     
  19. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,805

    Location: St helens

  20. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,866

    Location: Herts/uk

    Woo looks like only 1 way to beat that beast pc is use the Intel® Xeon® Processor E7-8890 v3 (45M Cache, 2.50 GHz) which has 18 cores , only if i win lottery tho lol