1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radeon FURY thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by truther, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,782

    Location: North East

    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
  2. truther

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 24, 2015

    Posts: 82

    sorry I think your wrong on this one , it simply a case of AMD completely forgetting about hdmi 2.0 .

    even on the press video you can see how embarrassed the guy is when he explains what hdmi 1.4a can do and display port. he also mention all future gpus will have hdmi 2.0.
     
  3. savagesam117

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 18, 2012

    Posts: 4,834

    Location: Crawley

  4. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,782

    Location: North East

    Presume so, they have hmb and are all on pre order and 500-599 ish.

    Edit - yep the names all have fury x, go click the link I gave.
     
  5. bru

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,286

    Location: kent

    So did they just forget about DP 1.3 as well then.:rolleyes:
    It is much more likely that the hardware is just not capable, seeing as it is exactly the same as Tonga in that regard.

    This is the family of cards that is supposedly going to save AMD bacon, you really think they are idiots and just forgot about the latest standard that have been on the competitors cards for a year now. :eek:
     
  6. bru

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,286

    Location: kent

    He means the ones listed are Fury X's

    This thread is for the Fury non X. :)
     
  7. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,782

    Location: North East

    Oh my bad I'm sorry. Was a bit confusing.
     
  8. truther

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 24, 2015

    Posts: 82

    Nvidia has done it ? it has nothing to do with gpu , but more having a digital converter on a pcb.
     
  9. D.P.

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,777

    AFAIK they would need to change the controller on the GPU, which is why it was absent form the FuryX because they simply didn't spend the engineering time on that.
     
  10. D.P.

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,777

    The GPU has to send the right signals to the converter. The Fiji chip isn't capable of outputting the right signal to enable HDMI2.0.

    Nvidia achieved this by making changes to their output controller, which is why only new Maxwell cards can support HDMI 2.0
     
  11. Ash0787

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 17, 2013

    Posts: 423

    I thought the 390x was meant to be the 980s equivalent, what is the purpose of the Fury ?
     
  12. mururoa

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 29, 2007

    Posts: 408

    At the first glanze, the gameplan seems to be to throw everything at the wall and see what sticks, considering they are also about to introduce the Nano. Guess we'll see what's what, rather soon...
     
  13. flopper

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2010

    Posts: 2,847

    sit between the 980 and 980ti
    empty spot there
     
  14. mururoa

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 29, 2007

    Posts: 408

    Fury X is sitting there already.
     
  15. flopper

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2010

    Posts: 2,847

    fury x = 980ti
    whats your point?
     
  16. mururoa

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 29, 2007

    Posts: 408

    :confused: No it's not , not according to any of the reviews available. My point was that the spot between 980 and 980 Ti is not empty as you claimed, as Fury X is occupying that spot already. :confused:
     
  17. flopper

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2010

    Posts: 2,847

    No it does not Fury x = 980ti
    whats your point again?
     
  18. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 15,802

    Location: Hertfordshire

    It may be marketed against the Ti but it doesn't match it.
     
  19. Wrinkly

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 31, 2013

    Posts: 1,395

    Location: Scotland

    At best the Fury X at stock can keep up with a reference 980ti at stock if you are willing to turn down some settings.

    But who buys a new card at this price level and is happy turning the settings down? Who buys a beastly 980ti and then runs it at stock?

    Benchmarks are not showing the Fury X compete well with the 980ti :(
     
  20. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,442

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I would be happy to an owners thread as long as everyone is ok with it.:)