1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Radeon X1900 XT users in here pls :)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Fr0dders, 1 May 2006.

  1. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,329

    Location: West Yorks

    im suffering from rather average performance from my card in BF2.

    To the point that the anandtech benchmark for BF2 at 1600 x 1200 with 4xAA and 8xAF is 70fps

    im very lucky to see this, if at all. Let alone average it

    i think this could be my CPU holding me back, i only have a Winchester core A64 3200+

    how much of an increase would going to say a 4000+ san diego make ? according to the tomshardware benchmarks, about 25 fps in far cry. But theres no bf2 benchies unfortunately

    any other x1900 XT users care to comment on their BF2 experiences ?
     
  2. PinkFloyd

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Sep 2005

    Posts: 14,417

    Location: Bradley Stoke, Bristol

    I imagine your processer is holding you back here. What processer were they using in the benchmarks you were looking at?
     
  3. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,329

    Location: West Yorks

    FX57 :(

    but as i said, im trying to work out if that really is the reason my system is so far behind.
     
  4. PinkFloyd

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Sep 2005

    Posts: 14,417

    Location: Bradley Stoke, Bristol

    an extra 800MHz clockspeed and 512kb of cache is a hell of a difference.
     
  5. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    Why dont you overclock your processor and find out? I can gurantee that is the problem as my 3200 venice CPU running at 2.4ghz gets 7800 3dmark 05 with a x1800xt, at 2.7ghz (an extra 300mhz) I get 8800, quite a vast improvement.
     
  6. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,329

    Location: West Yorks

    no thanks

    ill keep my system nice and quiet with a slow running 120mm fan

    cba with overclocking any more. too much noise.
     
  7. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,752

    just try it for a second, benchmark it once to see how badly the cpu is affecting it.
     
  8. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,752

    Location: Canterbury

    Overclocking? Noise? What the??? There are freezer 64 cpus out there that run silent and overclock well. Heck my 144 opty is sitting here @ 2.8ghz 1.48v on a standard freezer and its quiet.

    Unless your chip is poor at clocking.
     
  9. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy


    I run my dual core opty at 2.8ghz (800mhz overclock) cooling it with a zalman 9500 on 7v its silent.

    And yes that cpu is just not fast enough for the gfx card you have.
     
  10. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,215

    A stock 3200 is really holding that card back, I would say you need at least an A64 @ 2.4 ghz, so if you don't overclock then an A64-4000 should make a nice difference.