1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RadeonPro - How To Remove Micro stutter & Improve Frame Latency

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by AMDMatt, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    If you're suffering from micro stutter or poor frame latency you can use RadeonPro to improve things, dramatically in some cases. This applies to multi gpu mainly but can also improve performance for single card users as well.

    Here are my frame time results for playing battlefield 3.

    [​IMG]


    When i start using RadeonPro though im seeing much more consistent results.

    [​IMG]


    If i can improve single card latency that much with only using one gpu, then you can be sure it will have twice the effect for crossfire.


    How To Set It Up

    Disable vsync and triple buffering in game. If there is no option to disable triple buffering then assume that having vsync off will automatically disable it.

    1. Add the game exe to the RadeonPro profile list.
    2. Change Vsync to always on.
    3. Tick Triple Buffering. (Crossfire users DO NOT TICK triple buffering - The extra frame buffer will only add latency that will be twice as noticeable on a multi gpu setup)
    4. Tick dynamic frame rate control.
    5 Put in 1-2 fps below your monitors refresh rate. - Don't forget to put in your monitors refresh rate in the box above, 60 or 120hz.

    [​IMG]

    If you're unable to maintain this fps please use your average, or just below your average fps. Do not go any lower than 45. For best results id recommend a minimum of 50. 58-59 is ideal for 60hz monitors providing you can maintain that fps. 120hz - 60fps or higher depending on the amount of frames you can produce. Multi gpu setups can most likely use a higher fps because they have more grunt.


    6. Under advanced tick flip que size and change it to 1.

    [​IMG]


    If you don't wish to use Vsync or don't mind screen tearing then simply untick triple buffering and change vsync to 'Driver Default' in RadeonPro.

    If you want to use a Dynamic vsync which will use vsync but the second fps drops below 60 vsync will be auto disabled then select Dynamic from the drop down box.

    Other overlays can interfere with RadeonPro and make games crash if you have them running when starting a game. So make sure you shut down afterburner, fraps, team speak etc before you load the game with RadeonPro running. Once the game is loaded you can alt tab out and start up afterburner safely.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  2. PaulyD

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 24, 2008

    Posts: 4,568

    Location: High Wycombe

    Nice guide Matt.

    I have always done the beginning part myself and noticed it kept things silky smooth with no tearing at a constant 59/60fps with no input lag.

    What does the Flip Queue size do exactly?
     
  3. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    It changes how many fps the gpu renders ahead. Default is 3. Changing it to one not only decreases latency but it decreases stutter as well as frames aren't held in the buffer for so long.
     
  4. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 10,759

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    That will explain why it was worse when I tried it.

    Radeon Pro has it's own OSD(that is less intrusive than AB's), can save having the likes of AB open at all, eliminating any conflicts altogether.

    Another top guide from the Lt I may add, your creeping up on my legendery status matt.;):D
     
  5. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    Yes i forgot to mention that when i advised you last. :p

    Thanks Tommy. :)

    Have you been able to get HWINFO to work with RadeonPro? I'd miss my VRM/CPU temps if i ditched msi afterburner+hwinfo. For now im using all three together. I just shut down afterburner before i load a game with radeonpro then once its loaded i start up afterburner again.
     
  6. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 10,759

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    HWINFO is moot now matt as the Ice-Q's vrm report a constant 24c.:eek:

    Had a good play late last night on the new BF3 maps(capture the flag on motor bikes is utter bedlam)@1200/1550 rock solid, my vrms must be coping with the task-totally eliminating me getting concerned about vrm temps.
     
  7. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    Sometimes its better not to know. :D ;)
     
  8. imginy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 13, 2012

    Posts: 1,876

    Nice guide thanks :)
     
  9. Rusty0611

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 14,430

    Location: Peterborough

    You're not still fiddling are you?
     
  10. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    Thanks.

    Not until Pete has sent Tommy the Gelid heat sink. Then once tommy has worked his dremel magic on it i will be fiddling once again and hopefully for the last time.
     
  11. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 15,564

    Location: The KOP

    Nice guide matt. I been using almost the same setup only difference is setting fps 1/2 below refresh rate. I might check this out.
     
  12. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    I used some info from your original RadeonPro thread so thanks to you as well. :)

    I used to use afterburner only and enforce a fps cap (with vsync applied in game) via that but using the settings i posted above not only provides smoother performance, you also get less input latency.
     
  13. Suarez7

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 9,790

    Does the dynamic vsync add any kind of input lag at all? Every time I've tried various methods of vsync it has added some level of input lag.
     
  14. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    This is not dynamic vsync. Vsync is always on in the guide above. However if you hate input lag you can do the above without vsync. Just untick triple buffering and change Vsync always on to Driver Default. You can use dynamic vsync in RadeonPro if you want to though, just pick the Dynamic option. Vsync will be turned off the second fps dips below 60. This will still provide a smooth experience. I should probably add that in some sort to the OP, thanks.

    In regards to your question. Limiting the fps to below that of the monitors refresh rate (60hz =59-58fps) should remove most of the input lag you get with vsync. It depends on your monitor if you can notice it or not. I can barely notice it and as i hate tearing i always use the settings posted in the OP. Best bet is to try it for yourself and see which works best for you.
     
  15. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 15,564

    Location: The KOP

    I never notice input lag from vsync. They not been one game where having vsync on made input worst.
    I also hate screen tear spoils the game for me lol

    Glad I was some help :)
     
  16. AMDMatt

    AMD Rep

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 29,342

    Location: United Kingdom

    I can notice it in Battlefield 3 and Black Ops 2. However using the settings in the OP completely removes it for me. Most games (typically non fps shooters) i don't notice it at all.
     
  17. waspy88

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 895

    Location: United Pingdom

    Cheers for taking the time to set this up mate.
    Much appreciated :)
     
  18. borley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 16, 2012

    Posts: 1,459

    Location: Chelmsford,Essex,UK

    Very nice guide Matt will give it a go later
     
  19. PaulyD

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 24, 2008

    Posts: 4,568

    Location: High Wycombe

    Excellent, thanks for the clarification :)

    I really noticed it in BC2 on my old 570. I used Nvidia Inspector (I think that is what it is called - RadeonPro for NV basically) with a similar setup and this removed all input lag but still kept it silky smooth with no tearing.

    Have since done this setup for every game I play with no issues
     
  20. Locky

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 14, 2003

    Posts: 11,809

    Location: Leicestershire/Derbyshire

    hmmm bf3 doesn't even load if I use radeon pro.
     


Share This Page