Rant - London rent prices...

Associate
Now they are seriously getting silly. Why now you're asking? Well it's because I can't really afford it anymore.

I'm a second year uni student. For some reason I get hardly any loan because my Mum met some guy I don't know and so I can't afford to live in London unless I live with my girlfriend in a tiny box room.

I go through finding a place every year and prices just keep going up and up. I don't understand how greedy landlords can get. Not only do you pay huge sums for a single room but they are also awful. Budget with the GF is £1k a month and we're really struggling to find something we can live in. Personally I think two people would naturally work in a 4 bed house not one room but that may be because I grew up in the county in a big house.

Why don't you move further out I hear you say? Well I've looked at ALL options and generally the small savings you get for going a few miles out will be lost in transport costs. If you go to the other extreme of 30miles out you'll pay £400 a month for a railcard to get into London.

This is really ****ing me off as I've always utterly despised sharing with other people and have been 'floating' from place to place with all my possessions in boxes - it's really not nice. I think I want to get out of London but I still got two years of uni left at least. I might move to Sweden afterwards and get out of this country all together!

Rant over, please continue with your day ;). But really. How much further can they go?

Caporegime
Maybe you and your gf could look at transferring to a different university in a cheaper part of the country or world.

I expect the landlords will be just as greedy though /sigh. Sit next to two BTL landlords at work - they were moaning cos they now only get 20% tax relief on their mortgage payments (was 40%). Had to bite my lip as I get fkall tax relief off my mortgage payments.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
It's London, a capital city. What was you expecting?!?!!