1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reinstalling Windows 10 on a new drive.

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Michaeljcox24, 20 Jan 2017.

  1. Michaeljcox24

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2010

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: West Bromwich

    - About 12 months ago I put a 64GB SSD in the missis desktop, installed Win 7 from DVD and then did the free Win 10 upgrade.

    - We're at the stage now though where there's 5GB free space and we can't even do the anniversary update. Barely anything is on the drive other than Win 10 and a couple of essential programs.

    - Plan is to get a 256GB SSD when Feb rolls round.

    - How do I install Win 10 on it, do I have to buy a new copy?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Oct 2009

    Posts: 14,652

    Location: Greater London

    The license is linked to the board of the laptop, so just download the 10 ISO from the Microsoft tool and make a bootable USB/disk and install from fresh. When it asks for the product key just skip it, it'll reactivate itself when it connects to the internet.
     
  3. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,158

    Location: Shropshire

    Put new drive in PC, install Windows 10 from USB, Skip the key entry and it should be fine and dandy from there on IIRC..
     
  4. SimonC

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,858

    +1

    I put a SSD in my mums laptop, installed windows 10 from usb, skipped the key and it activated itself once in windows.

    Even if you have to call up microsoft to activate, I've done this a few times with windows 7, it's super easy and only takes a few minutes.
     
  5. Rabtech

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,139

    Location: Preston, Lancs

    Plug in the new SSD via a USB to SATA adapter, use Macrium reflect to clone it then install the SSD and remove the old drive. You can do a clean install but it isn't 100% necessary.
     
  6. Kurgen

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2015

    Posts: 3,447

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    can you clone the drive to a smaller one as long as it has the free space.

    ie 160gb HDD --> 120GB SSD
     
  7. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Nov 2014

    Posts: 6,534

    as others said, stuck the SSD in and install from USB, if it asks for a key skip and then it will activate once online as its done by hardware ID (mobo)

    you can use the W10 creation tool to do everything and your then good to go
     
  8. Kurgen

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2015

    Posts: 3,447

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    sorry I totally miss posted , i searched macrium in the forums.. wanted to know if i can clone using macrium for a windows 7 pc, from a 160gb hdd to 120gb ssd so i don't have to reinstall apps. I'm pretty sure its only about 60gb used on the HDD