Replacement for HP microserver

Associate
I have been running WHS on a HP Microserver 24/7 for quite a few years now using it as a file store and a Plex server. I have 3 disks in it using DrivePool although one drive has just started to report some problems so due to be replaced. Key data is being backed up to a cloud backup provider.

I am about to get some IP camera and looking to run Blue Iris to support them.

I am now thinking of replacing the HP with something a bit more capable and maybe going down the ESXi 7 route. I do have another Ryzen 5 based machine that isn't used that much so my initial thought was to repurpose that, but having a read around ESXi isn't supported on Ryzen processors. Is this correct?

If I have to get something else I don’t mind building something or buying second hand, but the machine needs to be quiet and efficient. My company offer discounted ex-corporate machines and I have had a couple of mint laptops through this route. I noticed a HP ProDesk 490 g3 i7 8gb 1TB HDD that has just become available which I can get for £350. It has the right form factor but looks like it only have room for 1 2.5” and 2x3.5” so I would be concerned about expansion.

I wouldn’t want to pay any more than £350 for something to replace the HP Microserver.

Any thoughts?

Associate
OP
I've been looking a bit more at reusing the Ryzen 5 based machine with unRaid as this seems to meet my needs. I was hoping to remove the GPU as it is quite old, and very loud and I suspect not energy efficient but found that the CPU doesn't have any integrated GPU. So I would need to get a very cheap GPU if I went down this route.

The case is also a Fractal Design S so doesn't have a HDD cage. I think the 3 on the side panel are already full.

Maybe I will ditch the idea of re-using this box.

Soldato