SBS 2003 internet grinding to a halt!

Soldato
I need you help please....

Im a bit of a novice with SBS and servers in general so if you need anymore info then please ask and I'll get you it.

Were running SBS 2003 (1 server) with 5 computers hard wired. The server is running exchange, trend antivirus and acting as a file server for the company data. It is also acting as a proxy for the internet using Trend Micro Interscan Firewall.

Recently the internet has been grinding to a snails pace which is causing problems internally and for when I want to connect remotely. IT has been working fine for about 2 years and only just started with this problem.

I had a check of the health monitor (wasnt really sure where to look?) and there is one critical warning on the allocated memory:
memory1.JPG

memory2.JPG

memory3.JPG

Does the above all look ok?

Is there anything else I can look at to try and diagnose the problem? Ive logged into the router and the connection speeds seem to be ok as far as I can tell

Modem
ADSL Firmware Version 6.01.00.12
Modem Status Connected
DownStream Connection Speed 8128 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 832 kbps
VPI 0
VCI 38

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Soldato
Setup a client to go 'straight out' via the router (gateway) and directly pointed to your ISPs DNS, see if it's slow then.

Additionally, 188mb of free RAM is very little.

Associate
What version of SBS are you running, Prem or Standard? If Prem, are you using ISA?
Check there has been no update to Trend that could affect the IP stack (Have seen this before!)
Also, try setting your router and DNS Forwarders to use Open DNS and see if that helps.

188MB of free RAM is fine for SBS box with 2Gig - Remember, Exchange WILL take all available RAM and let other processes have RAM as and when they need it.

Rob

Soldato
OP
As far as Im away its just the standard version. Checked in system and it says:

MS Windows Server 2003
for Small Business Server
Service Pack 2