server backup advice

Soldato
Hi all,

At work we have office and remote workers and we've some webspace that comes from a local company (we're an internet based company but for some reason they can't be bothered to set a little something aside for our department :( )

Now this company is a little unreliable, tonight for instance they've had NAS issues since 7pm and it's still not up, which for a 24 hour a day industry like ours isn't acceptable. However, I know I won't be allowed to tell them to do one and go elsewhere as its a friend of the manager!

What I would like to do is mirror the entire site (2 wikis, 1 forum, several pages, couple of sql dbases etc) on to a 000webhost free site (plenty big enough for us).

is there anyway of automating this? I don't want to have to make changes to each site every single day just in case we have downtime! :(

(Apologies if I sound patronising, I have no idea how much experience you have in any of this)

It all mainly depends on the platforms you are working with and what sort of access you have.

It wouldn't be all that hard to use rsync/ftp (or whatever file transfer methods your platforms support) regularly between your main host and backup. This could be automated and with some scripts could also backup the databases, shoot them over to the other server and then restore. The main issues are going to be failing over to the backup site nicely.

Say your main host goes down and you are informed immediately. Either you are going to have to tell all your customers to go to www.mybackupsite.com instead of www.myrealsite.com or you are going to have to update the DNS relating to that site. Both cases are unrealistic and at best could result in several hours further downtime.