Should I be more helpful?

Associate
Im a database developer/data analyst.

I've been assigned a graduate, who is very eager to help and learn from me. The problem is he has very little basic IT skills eg. He would just about know how to use some basic excel functions (but not know how these actually work!). I have very short deadlines, where I'm often working lots of overtime to complete and don't really have time to teach anyone. I do feel guilty that he is just sitting there doing nothing while I'm busy but I'd do assign stuff to him, not only will he struggle to understand what needs to be done he will just bug me until I've shown him how to do it all (thereby I might as well have done it myself and saved myself time).

I've spoken to my manager about this and he understands that I don't have time to teach him but there is no one else who has the skills to - I'm the only data person they have in our office of about 50 consultants (big four).

Associate
I feel your pain.
I had a college kid assigned to me for a short period of time. He was keen but had no knowledge or trouble shooting skills. Basically it was quicker for me to do the job then either tell him how to do it, or leave him to figure it out himself.
I managed to get rid of him.
But is your guy employed by your company or is he just there as work experience?

Can you not give him some tutorials to work through?

Soldato
Do you a section of the project that will be tackled winin 1/2 weeks? Try to get him up to scratch with the requirements in this 1/2 weeks, so when you actually get down to the project, he would know quite a bit.

Give him some information/tutorials, and tell him to work his way up and find extra info. Communication is key though.

Associate