1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow network speeds out to garden studio

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by GodAtum, Feb 15, 2020.

  1. GodAtum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2009

    Posts: 1,384

    I have about a 30-40m CAT5e run. In iperf I get about 100 mbps. In my home, I get 800 mbps.

    Would this be due to cabling? Very annoyed if it is, cause it was very expensive to lay down.
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,771

    Broken wire or bad termination.

    100Mbps only requires two of the pairs to be connected, Gigabit needs all four.
     
  3. Mcnumpty2323

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 1,969

    How long ago was it laid?
    Has it ever gone faster?
    Was whoever laid it qualified
    In networking?
    Ie able to test the speed
    Once they finished laying it
    Not just a builder or landscaper etc
     
  4. TJM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 10, 2007

    Posts: 2,365

    It's probably a bodge job but you might as well make sure that the computer in the studio isn't at fault (take it into the house and test it so the buried cable isn't in loop).

    If the cable has to be replaced, you might want to consider pulling fibre through instead. A lot of professionals frown on running a length of copper between two buildings.
     
  5. jellybeard999

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 7, 2004

    Posts: 7,646

    Location: Co Durham

    I'd start by checking that if is correctly terminated.

    Have you got a tester? Or a punch down tool?

    Test, or re-punch the sockets/patch panel or whatever at each end.
     
  6. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    If you paid someone money to lay a cable, and its not meeting the agreed standard, then get them back to re-terminate it or re-pull it.
     
  7. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,546

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Show photos of the connections (if they are modules, show photos of the back of them).

    If you like, I can post you a set of tools and modules to fix the issue, along with a tester to test the cable.

    As long as you send them back after!
     
  8. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

    Just see if it's connected at 100m or 1000m first.
     
  9. GodAtum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2009

    Posts: 1,384

    Thanks for all the advice .. looks like it was my network card. Swapped ports and it's now around 800 mbps.
     
  10. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,546

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Should get 950mbps on gigabit file transfers