Spec me a project/timesheet/task management solution

Associate
I'm a freelance web developer and for the last couple of years I've been using the community edition of Feng Office to track clients/tasks/timesheets. I host it myself but its a bit clunky and missing some of the stuff you get with their paid hosted solution so I'm looking to move to a fully hosted solution. Unfortunately Feng's paid plans start at $59 a month which is too much.

So can anyone recommend an alternative hosted solution that meets the following requirements:

• Needs to have a timer for recording time against tasks (needs to have manual entry as well, but timer functionality is a must)
  • No storage required for documents, etc
  • The ability to allow other users access to view data (not edit)
  • No more than £15 per month
  • Ability to report by time period/client/project/task
  • It either needs to be a mobile friendly solution, or have an Android app that will allow me to update and track time when onsite with clients.
  • Not essential, but preferably have the ability to generate branded invoices from timesheets (5-10 a month)

Someone recommended Wave Accounting. I've taken a look but think that might be slightly overkill for my needs.

So OCUKer's, what do you use that might fit the bill?

Thanks

Soldato
Have you looked at Basecamp yet? It's really good, but may be a bit overkill for your needs.
The lowest tier pricing is roughly £14/month and allows you to have 10 active projects at any given time. Finished projects can be archived and don't count against your allowance, unless you reopen them.

Edit: I've just read that the latest version of Basecamp no longer has time tracking, but does have plugins. (I used to use Basecamp a couple years ago, but switched to Trello as it's free, but it doesn't do everything you need, though there might be plugins.)

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Thanks, have taken a glance and looks like a possibility.

A couple of questions: