Spilt Pepsi near my laptop

Associate
Hi everyone, I'm feeling very stupid after knocking over a glass of Pepsi next to my laptop. Thankfully it was on a cooling pad so didn't get soaked, in fact the only bit of Pepsi I can see was a splash the size of my small finger nail on the encasing next to the air vent. I blotted it straight away and left it for 24 hours. You can't smell anything, can't see anything but I'm worried about what damage this could do.

I have accidental coverage protection for the laptop, but there's no fault with the laptop so ASUS most likely won't accept a claim, plus it seems silly to send off a laptop when all the tests come back fine. I could always claim if and when the laptop does fail.

Should I pay a local IT company to look at it?

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to these things and am not sure of the risks and what to do. Any advice appreciated. Thanks!

Associate
OP
Wouldn't worry about it at all. If it's going to have issues, it'll have shown them straight away :)
Thank you for your help.
Everyone’s laptop should be a bit sticky.. if not they aren’t using the interweb as it was intended :cry:
Haha lol, thank you!
Next to your laptop, not on your laptop therefore it will be fine.

The fan won't go sucking pepsi up for a drink so no need to worry.
Cheers, glad it won't go sucking it up for a drink, was a bit worried!
It'll be fine, forget about it.
Cheers, will do.
First off, don't feel foolish for asking; it's better to be sure. Second, was the spill near where air comes out or where air gets sucked in? If the former you really don't need to worry as air pressure will have saved you; if the latter you should keep a careful eye on your laptop. If you feel comfortable then open it up and have a look