sql: extracting values from a delimited string

Soldato
hi guys,

I've built a table which has a list of , delimited products in it and the product category they belong to.

product cat | products
Productcat1| product1,product2,product3,product4

I want to extract the values in the products field and build a list of products and their relevant category, just to a temporary table like the below so I can concatenate the 2 fields:

Product | product cat
product1|productcat1
product2|productcat1
product3|productcat1

etc.. does anybody know how? I'm a massive noob at this so be gentle

Many thanks,

B@

If you're using SQL Server, something like this should do the trick. Agree with Spunkey about re-thinking your db design though.

Code:
declare @test table (
	productcat	char(100),
	products	varchar(2000)
);

insert into @test values (1, 'prod_a,prod_b,prod_c,prod_d,prod_e,prod_f,prod_g');

select t.productcat, o.split_products
from (
	select productcat, cast('<val>' + REPLACE(products, ',', '</val><val>') + '</val>' as xml) product_xml
	from @test
) t
cross apply (
	select prod_data.X.value('.','varchar(2000)') as split_products 
	from t.product_xml.nodes('val') as prod_data(X)
) o

Last edited:
Instead of storing the data like that, you should do something like this (as long as a product can only ever have one category ie a one to many relationship):
Code:
Product
|Id|Name     |CategoryId|
|1 |Product 1|1         |
|2 |Product 2|2         |
|3 |Product 3|3         |

ProductCategory
|Id|Name      |
|1 |Category 1|
|2 |Category 2|
|3 |Category 3|

The id fields of both tables would be the table's auto generated primary keys (unique). The CategoryId column should have a foreign key relationship with the primary key in the ProductCategory table. When you want to find out what category a product is in, you could do a join of the two tables.