surge protectors

Soldato
i need a 10 way extension to plug all my gear into, and i was wundering,

if i buy a normal 10 way extension, and a single plug surge protector will this work the same as buying a 10 way extension with built in surge protection?

It ought to work but the chances are that you will be overloading the single plug that you are plugging it into and will probably void the makers insurance that they offer. I got a 2x4 way pack of Belkin surge protectors about 4 years ago for £20 or so and it offers to replace items up to £2,000 which seemed fair enough to me.

ive got two turntables, two cd decks, one mixer, two active speakers, pc, monitor and my tele going through one socket, i didnt think this would be an issue?

I'm not an electrical expert by any means but your average plug contains a 13A fuse at the maximum and you are proposing to put 10 plugs with varying fuses through this surge protector with a 13A fuse. I'm pretty sure that counts as overloading it but wait for more opinions on it. Maybe if you are not using all of them at once it won't matter so much but I'd still prefer to split it out myself.

You won't have any problems at all. I have a 8 way block, with a another 6 way attached to that. 8 poweramps, TV, CD, 2 DVD player, HT processor, pre-amp, DAC, tuner. Never tripped the mains fuse.

The fuses are only there to protect the device in a worse case scenario. A CD player does not use 3A of current, for example.

stokefan said:
are surge protectors worth getting?

I have a 6 plug Belkin one, but I want anohter one for my PC, does brand matter either?

I prefer to have them for the peace of mind even if it doesn't actually do all that much. I don't know if brand matters hugely but Belkin offer various levels of insurance for their products, my two pack of four way adapters came with £2,000 insurance for connected products so that is worth checking out to see if they all have similar provisions.