1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking freeview and streaming it over home network?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by TBirdUK, Dec 1, 2019 at 9:43 PM.

  1. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    Are there any boxes or software that I can use to take my freeview, from an aerial, and then stream it over my network to say a firestick or tablet.

    There used to be a box the Noovo TVMan WiFi Live TV Hotspot & Multimedia Stream Tablet/Smartphones Maplin which would do exactly as I need but I havent been able to track one down - anyone know of any alternatives?
     
  2. heeeed

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 11, 2002

    Posts: 686

    Location: Newcastle

    HDHomeRun is probably what you’re looking at
     
  3. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,683

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I use a HDHomeRun Connect Quatro, really good device. I have it linked up to Emby for recordings and TV Guide etc. Can also be streamed directly via VLC or something.
     
  4. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    fantastic, that looks like just the job
     
  5. Puzzled

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 9, 2003

    Posts: 6,094

    Hdhomerun works well but very few devices work well with interlaced video so picture quality isn't as good as you'll get from a built in tv tuner.

    The 4k fire stick also has a firmware issue that means it crashes when it tries to deinterlace video.

    Only steaming device I've found that works well is the shield.
     
  6. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    how does the shield work, can I use it to take a freeview signal from my lounge to a TV in the kitchen?
     
  7. Puzzled

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 9, 2003

    Posts: 6,094

    The nvidia shield is just a streaming device (netflix, prime, iplayer etc) but it's a very capable one and has the power to deinterlace which is good for tv.

    The hdhomerun connects to your aerial and your network and it can then be accessed via streaming device, phone, pc or tablet by using the hdhomerun app or through plex, emby and a few other dvr solutions.
     
  8. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    got it, but buying a hdhomerun and a nvidia shield starts to become a bit too expensive just to get tv in the kitchen
     
  9. Puzzled

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 9, 2003

    Posts: 6,094

    I use an old amazon fire stick (gen 2) upstairs and I only really notice issues with interlaced video when watching sport so for a second TV it's fine.

    Apparently hdhomerun have updated the app on the 4k fire stick to turn off deinterlacing so it shouldn't crash anymore.
     
  10. RoyMi6

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 2,626

    There's actually a quite good app called TVCatchup which, despite the name..., lets you view LIVE Freeview content.

    There's apps for android, apple and firestick/roku - plus you can just view it in your web browser: http://tvcatchup.com

    I've actually got a TV Tuner card in my Plex server with 4 tuners that lets me watch live TV anywhere I can use Plex but more handely it means I can record to my Plex server and view the recordings anywhere.

    Ignore me - this obviously broke at somepoint. I'll admit I haven't used it for a while since I got my TV Tuner card!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019 at 3:42 PM
  11. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    I have used TVCatchup for ages but recently it just doesn't work, gets to the page, app loads etc but it wont work - is yours still working, I thought the provider was gone?
     
  12. RoyMi6

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 2,626

    You're right! It seems very broken! I noticed when I installed the TVCatchup app on my firetv (or what I thought was the tvcatchup app) it had a different icon, but maybe it was something different. Strange! Oh well! Not a problem for me since I don't really use it any more but I'll double check what I was using and see if that still works when I get home.
     
  13. TBirdUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,504

    Location: High Wycombe

    thanks