The future of Java.

Soldato
Hey guys,

Well I'm coming up to the end of my first year and we've all been asked to look at the modules that we can pick next year.

This is a pretty important thread, so no "PYTHON IS BETTER HERP DERP" please.

I remember reading in 2009 that 'experts' were saying that Java was coming to the end of it's lifespan.

But from what I've seen and read, Java has grown in the past 4 years as ubiquitous computing has become a necessity.

I know that HTML5 is starting to come into it's own with multi-platform application development - but I just want to know whether if it's still worth going through with Java or should I go with something different like C/C++, Python etc?

Thanks.

Associate
I finished my Comp Sci degree 2 years ago and it was taught almost exclusively in Java. It depends almost entirely on what carrier you wish to pursue within the IT industry... I have found myself in a software testing job having to know quite a bit about vb6 and c#... neither of which i was taught at uni.

your couse will teach you the basics about structuring classes and developing programs from a proffesional standpoint and in my opinion thats the thing you should focus on while at university. The programming its self you can teach yourself, each of the languages have their own unique way of doing things but they can all do the same thing at the end of the day. It's just syntax. Having leant java, i have found vb6 and c# to be very easy to pick up. and i can read C and C++ without much problem. It's all logic at the end of the day. What you can't teach yourself is the importance of well structured code and using good coding practices because you wont ever learn them from books or code snippets online.