The Great Resignation

Soldato
Many will have seen this coming up in the news recently. It was predicted that due to the pandemic that people would start to reassess what they are doing in their lives and this includes work. The expectation was that a large number of people would resign for a fresh start, a completely different role, work less or not at all. I work in the tech sector and in the last few weeks I’ve noticed this is just starting to gain momentum. Resignations are running at around twice as many as they usually do and the rate is increasing. They expect 41% in the US and other countries predicting similar or higher numbers are going to resign.

For me the pandemic did have an effect on what I did at work. In the middle of the pandemic I did ask to change roles to an area I am much more interested in doing and the idea of not working to old age really started to grow on me. I have even dabbled with the idea of moving to another company and that’s still on the cards depending on how I feel about things over the coming months.

Anyone else noticed the impacts of the great resignation on their industries or have possibly considered it themselves?

Soldato
OP
Companies, especially in tech, that don't adapt to how people now want to work are going to struggle to recruit and retain talent. At least in the short term anyway, who knows how things will look in 5-10 years.

Edit: Actually OP didn't you post the other day that your company is dead set against remote work? If so are you really surprised that people are looking for opportunities that will give them more freedom to live their lives?