1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

***The Official 6320/6420 Overclocking Thread***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by easyrider, 12 Apr 2007.

  1. devablue

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2007

    Posts: 111

    Location: Chester

    Mine is happy 3.2 at the moment, i'm using 1.4v vcore and no +100mv. Temps peak at 48c under orthos blend using a tunig.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. matthew2456

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Mar 2005

    Posts: 605

    Location: -->

    excellent temps there! any pics of your case and setup?
     
  3. devablue

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2007

    Posts: 111

    Location: Chester


    Cheers, i'll get some up, it's nothing special.
     
    Last edited: 30 Apr 2007
  4. snazzy_dazzy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 26 Apr 2007

    Posts: 416

    Location: A nasty looking minefield

    Mine is being delivered after 6 days :mad:

    Will be here today.

    Get ready for some tests. :D :cool:


    P.s Could someone do a walkthrough for me on installing a SATAII HDD on my eVGA 680i. I swear Ive done something wrong with my current setup. The HDD is soooo slow. (Seagate Barracuda 320Gb 7200.10 16mb Cache (pink glue)). Eg which bios settings to have etc




    cheers.
     
  5. Substance

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 3,865

    Location: Wigan

    got this setup though a 9 hour orthos test and still stable, also nice and cool, this is all on stock cooler and voltages

    [​IMG]
     
  6. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,843

    Location: Autonomy

    Is anyone going to actually push one of these please.

    I want to see if they will do 3.6ghz not easy 3.2ghz.

    I want to know how they scale and how much vcore they need for the final push to 3.6ghz.

    Thanks
     
  7. Gonzo0

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,383

    Location: Derby

    @ easyrider im going to go for 3.6Ghz as soon as i get my new cooler and that high powered delta fan that kicks out like 120cfm, f**k the noise i want speed :D
     
  8. Gonzo0

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,383

    Location: Derby

    what temps mate?? Im getting 65c load at 2.7Ghz
     
  9. Substance

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 3,865

    Location: Wigan

    Give it time, these are pretty new chips and i guess most people (me included) just want to get the hang of how these actually oc, at the moment im pushing mine up a little each day then running orthos why i sleep, wont be long till i hit a wall, then i will post my findings

    *edit* for Gonzo0 : hi mate, when im running orthos i peak at around 52'c
     
  10. Gonzo0

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,383

    Location: Derby

    Thats good for stock cooling ;)
     
  11. Substance

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jun 2006

    Posts: 3,865

    Location: Wigan

    i did have my old 3200+ quite heavily overclocked in this setup, all my fans and the case is exactly the same as then, i have it housed in an antec p180 with 120mm intake and 120mm exhaust
     
  12. Gonzo0

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,383

    Location: Derby

    Now at 2.8Ghz only been stable for 1 hour though but im sure ill get no errors :) No extra voltage so far :)

    just a quick note saying overclocked my crucial ballistix to 900Mhz with timings of 4-4-4-12 :D
    Really chuffed so far as my last system was a socket 939 and the overclcking was pants, my new mobo just makes it so easy with the ability to unlink RAM speed and CPU speed :D

    Do you reckon i could get 1000Mhz and 4-4-4-12 with my 2gb crucial ballistix?
     
  13. mercyless

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,061

    Location: london

    e6420, stepping L644G. watercooled.

    [​IMG]
    still running

    booted at 3.9, 1.62v
    [​IMG]
     
  14. matthew2456

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Mar 2005

    Posts: 605

    Location: -->

    what voltage for 3.6??
     
  15. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,687

    Location: London

    Looks good, the e6420 is a bit more tempting now although that is some large vCore your pushing there (1.5v) also that board must have some savage vDroop as CPU-z is showing just 1.238vCore?

    How high did it go using stock voltage?
     
  16. snazzy_dazzy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 26 Apr 2007

    Posts: 416

    Location: A nasty looking minefield

    If thats the way you like it big wayne we will keep it about chips.

    The e6420 is a good chip
     
    Last edited: 1 May 2007
  17. stickroad

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 29 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,817

    Hey snazzy_dazzy, surely you can tighten the timings up?

    Can you run the ram at 800MHZ 3-3-3-12, out of curiosity?
     
  18. stickroad

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 29 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,817

    Ok nice one, i will be waiting... :D
     
  19. devablue

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2007

    Posts: 111

    Location: Chester


    you got loads of headroom with volts and temps :) crank it up ;)
     
  20. mercyless

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,061

    Location: london


    cpu-z never shows correct volts, bios is 1.570v, quite a drop to 1.5v.

    on stock volts 3.3ghz

    3.4ghz needed 1.4v

    [​IMG]