1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official macOS Mojave thread ***

Discussion in 'Apple Software' started by Feek, Sep 23, 2018.

  1. bcjames

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 7, 2003

    Posts: 6,191

    Location: Leicestershire

    I did a 'restore standard fonts' via File in Font Book and it sorted my web fonts issue. It does seem to remove any added fonts, which isn't a problem for me as they are all on a nas anyway, but beware.
     
  2. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 24,568

    Location: In the radio shack

    Good to know - I'll be interested to know if it sorts it for the other people having the same issue.
     
  3. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,222

    Location: South Manchester

    Yeah, that fixed it. I'd tried a validate before but with no joy.

    Cheers bcjames.
     
  4. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,143

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    Genius.
     
  5. SupraWez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,655

    So is this only an issue for people with additional fonts loaded?

    Wasnt even aware loading additional fonts was still a thing :D
     
  6. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,222

    Location: South Manchester

    Some apps install fonts, notably MS Office and Adobe...
     
  7. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 2,688

    My fonts definitely look different too after just upgrading. Might have to have a play with the settings.

    I just noticed this when opening up the new app store - it seems Apple now track how many phone calls and emails we make?!

    Not sure how I feel about that.

    http://uk.businessinsider.com/apple-to-calculate-trust-scores-to-combat-fraud-2018-9


     
  8. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 2,688

    Not sure about dark mode either. Doesn't feel quite right, even the native apps like Messages.
     
  9. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,222

    Location: South Manchester

    Business Insider tho, so it's clickbait.
     
  10. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 2,688

    I googled it after reading the actual text in the OS that I quoted above. Business Insider was just one of many articles on it.
     
  11. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 2,688

    The new screenshot tool using shift cmd 5 is good. It would be better if it could capture entire web pages though, including below the fold, rather than just what's visible on your monitor.

    The ability to take a photo with your phone and automatically insert it into notes etc. seems broken. Keeps timing out on my X even with iOS 12.0.1 and connected using a cable.
     
  12. The_Abyss

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 9,378

    Location: Ipswich

    Thank you! It removed a couple of fonts I'd installed for work, but everything else is back as it should be.
     
  13. rpstewart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 11, 2003

    Posts: 10,728

    Location: Greenock, Scotland

    Anyone having issues downloading the Mojave update from the App Store? I hit the download button which changes to downloading and the progress bar appears then after 50-100Mb it stops, the button goes back to Download.. I can hit it again and it *seems* to be resuming the download each time based on the size of the progress bar but it's rather annoying that I can't just let it get on with things itself.
     
  14. rpstewart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 11, 2003

    Posts: 10,728

    Location: Greenock, Scotland

    Never mind seems to have sorted itself now.
     
  15. The_Abyss

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 15, 2007

    Posts: 9,378

    Location: Ipswich

    How are people finding Mojave for stability? Since I upgraded had a few instances of running out of application memory, specifically 16gb on the iMac when running FCPX with no more taxing content than normal, and 8gb on the MacBook running a number of Citrix apps.
     
  16. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 24,568

    Location: In the radio shack

    I haven't noticed that - But my iMac has 40Gb RAM and I doubt I fill it up. The MB only has 8Gb but again, I don't really drive it hard.