1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Okay, I just did a system restore to the 6th of february when everything was perfect.
    I installed the latest chipset drivers for my MOBO just in case. (at this point everything worked properly)
    i installed the radeon 7 drivers and the problems have instantly come back, I have the weird lines of random distortion on the screen (like lines of static briefly appearing)
    This is before I have literally even opened the newly installed crimson GUI
    Is this the card or the drivers, I REALLY REALLY need to know
     
  2. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Please other owners help us out, please post your motherboard make also @definitelynotatwork and others.

    Benchmarks are running fine but gaming is a nightmare of crashes, even windows task manager f**ks up with the card installed , clicking on "restart" on windows itself doesn't work and clicking "shut down" crashes the Pc and freezes the screen requiring me to press the reset button
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  3. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

  4. definitelynotatwork

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 12

    I'll do that when I get off work tonight (In the US, but this was the only forum I noticed people actually discussing the card instead of crying about it's value or benchmarks).
     
  5. definitelynotatwork

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 12

    Mobo in my system is an Asus X99-A ( https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/X99A/ )

    I haven't updated it's BIOS in a few years, I will check on that when I get home tonight also.
     
  6. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Thanks for that, to answer your earlier question I had a vega 64 watercooled and i used +250% power limits mods on it , i also had 2 in crossfire for a while all on a 850w Superflower power supply so it's not the PSU that's the problem from my end.
     
  7. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,422

    Location: Essex

    Just so you know, no freezing or any other issues this end. I have still only played csgo to be fair and run benchmarks etc. Not had a single crash, black screen or anything of note. Shutdown, restart and all that jazz is working as it should be. Board is a Taichi x399 as you know. Power supply is a seasonic 860 platinum.

    When I installed the driver I went to custom and selected the amd clean install option. Not sure if this helped at all but I do normally do that if i get a new card.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  8. majestynl

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 23, 2018

    Posts: 36

    Location: Amsterdam

    Nice findings. Will try tomorrow. Same discussion on OC.net. personally I was using the forced windowed mode for gaming (shortcut -w) I found out.

    When I do that Im not getting the mem locks and my clock OC also is accepted. Can get 2000+ mhz OC ;) with 20% Powerlimit.

    Mobo: CH7
    PSU: Seasonic 1200w
     
  9. definitelynotatwork

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 12

  10. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Yeah I used custom install, there is something terribly wrong with the drivers or this card, I'm leaning heavily towards the card as it's been weird from the moment I ran my first game with it.
     
  11. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,422

    Location: Essex

    Right time to redeem that re2 code and see what you are talking about.
     
  12. definitelynotatwork

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 12

    @Illuminist I feel dumb for not asking you earlier, but who is your R7 sold/manufactured by?

    Mine was a Sapphire model I got from newegg here in the United States (bought day 1).

    I'm wondering, if it is card related, if we can pinpoint the manufacturing defect. I'm guessing these cards, despite them all be reference, were built in different facilities.
     
  13. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,850

    Location: Dalek flagship

  14. harmattan

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2015

    Posts: 122

    Location: hamshiretown heathamleton

    Anyone try checking theirs with CUINFO? Would he interested seeing the extra Compute Units and how they are locked.
     
  15. TrixX

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 532

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    These are prime candidates for waterblocks. I think they'll be flipping amazing with good cooling combined with LM.
     
  16. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 222

    Location: Cornwall

    Morning all!
    Just reading through whats been said over night.
    When you run DDU in safe mode it removes the Graphics drivers but at the same time the Chipset driver too! It doesn't remove the chipset in normal windows mode.
    So step 1 would be DDU in safe mode.
    2: Back into windows, https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am4/x470 install chipset driver and restart.
    3: https://www.amd.com/en/support/grap...amd-radeon-2nd-generation-vega/amd-radeon-vii install that on custom and restart.

    At this point you should on paper have a good set of drivers.

    I'd do your bios too: X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING looking at your info.
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X470-AORUS-ULTRA-GAMING-rev-10#support-dl-bios
    F6.

    Another thing people more than likely are not aware of since Vega is how the card reacts after a hard lock crash. They do a UEFI boot now so after a crash a normal restart isn't good enough. You need to power the system down, as in flick the PSU switch off or at the wall and empty the caps of power (press the power botton with the power off). It stops issues.
     
  17. Colzy

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 31, 2014

    Posts: 149

    Location: Bristol, UK

    finally got mine in last night after being away.

    So far so good to be honest. Played BFV for a few hours just fine, ultra settings on 1440p ultrawide. Sitting pretty at 100hz [max] freesync. Fresh install of windows mind.

    that's on an asus rog strix 470 -f, I have a CX650M PSU from Corsair, few years old now.

    We'll see how things go in other games and so on when I find time this week.
     
  18. mohawk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 2, 2007

    Posts: 1,339

    Location: Winchester

    im surprised people with issues haven't tried a fresh windows install (which now adays is super quick) i was having issues with frame rates with my gpu i had tried DDU (which made things worse) after a nice fresh install i was seeing no issue and also an improvement of 10-20fps in most games.
     
  19. Colzy

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 31, 2014

    Posts: 149

    Location: Bristol, UK

    I actually wasn't planning to as I reinstalled only a week ago when I got the Ryzen, but i messed up and didn't format the boot drive properly and get the records on the right drive, which went to hell when I put an old 'master' drive in. Bashed my head against a brick wall for too long trying to fix that, which frankly was pointless since as you say - reinstalling windows is easy nowadays! Perhaps that headache was for the best.
     
  20. Colzy

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 31, 2014

    Posts: 149

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019